We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant, service, and ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Contrivance Restaurant

King's Contrivance Restaurant
10150 Shaker Dr, Columbia, MD 21046-1304
301-596-3455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 204 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, service, and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I ate at the King's Contrivance recently, and had an excellent experience. The restaurant has a very nice appeal even before you walk in the door. Once inside, we were quickly seated in a smaller room, which helped conversation and intimacy.

Our waitress (Sharon) was the very best-friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive without being intrusive.

The menu has a nice selection of items. I can't speak for all of them, but the seafood bisque, spinach salad, filet, tiramisu, and wines were outstanding. Usually, we try a more challenging entree, but this was a melt in your mouth quality of beef, and since we have cut down on our red meat intake, we savored every bite.

We chose to take advantage of their prix fixe menu-a real buy at $34 for 3 courses! The restaurant is a little on the expensive side, so it effectively meant we received at least one of the courses for free. Also, since it was Friday, the wine was half-price.

The meal and experience was well worth the full price!

Both the Maitre d' and waitress asked if we liked the meal, and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring that we were pleased.

It's a great place for special occasions, and the restaurant staff seemed very willing to help you plan and enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegance at Lunch time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a joy to have sometime unique and delicious for lunch. The presentation and flavor of food was so inviting. I can't wait to go again. Maybe my birthday or someone else's?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have had many special dinners at King's Contrivance and it is always good. There is a reason they have been in business for so many years.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
198 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“An escape from the usual places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The King's Contrivance is a luxury restaurant, the kind that will provide your group with a separate room, a large table, dedicated service, great food and wine. The ambience is good and allows people to relax and talk freely with no crosstalk from other tables. Great place for a business meeting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Poor service, Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very overpriced! A glass of wine was $12 and they gave you very wine. The calamari was in nuggets.The service was so bad, I had to ask the bellboy for more blue cheese dressing and for the bill. They do not have ranch dressing.What is that about? I would NOT recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Contrivance Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to King's Contrivance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Contrivance Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.