We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining in a mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Contrivance Restaurant

King's Contrivance Restaurant
10150 Shaker Dr, Columbia, MD 21046-1304
301-596-3455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Troy, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dining in a mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

600 miles from home, I met up with a neighbor and we headed to the King's Contrivance for dinner. Since we were looking to catch up and talk a while, this place was perfect. They had a decent selection of seafood and an equally good selection of non-seafood, an extensive list of wines and, this week, they were participating with Restaurant Week in the region. So for very little $$ I had a 4~5 star meal, and it was terrific.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mc Lean
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very nice dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of those restaurants where it is appropriate to dress up. The service is excellent and stately, the white table cloths pristine and the food sublime. I had a wonderful melon gazpacho and the soft shell crab special. My companion had salmon and we shared a key lime pie. Complimented with a lovely chardonnay, the meal was complete. Definitely would go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had the rehearsal dinner for our daughter's wedding at the Kings Contrivance Restaurant this past Friday night and it was wonderful. We had 56 people on the lovely air conditioned sun porch.
The food was incredible...We choose a menu of 4 entrees and each and every one was delicious! Our family and friends raved about the food. Richard, the manager was a pleasure to work with and made the event run beautifully. We look forward to having other events there! Columbia Maryland which is filled with chain restaurants has this wonderful gem...We HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I made last minute reservations for King's Contrivance for an escape from the kids night out. We were one of the first people in the restaurant. The service was excellent. We both got the early bird specials. For appetizers I got the seafood crepe and my wife got the MD crab soup. My crepe was excellent, her soup was good, but was a little heavy on the Old Bay seasoning. For entrees, I got the pork tenderloin and my wife got the fillet minion. My pork disk was good, a tad to overdone but the sauce made up for it. My wife's filet was good, a little on the medium-rare side instead of the requested medium, but still good. Neither of us were big fans of the potato side dish that came with the fillet. Both of our desserts excellent.

All in all a great trip. It wasn't as a knock your socks off type of evening like we have had in the past but still great service and good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceptional in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We got married at the King's Contrivance in 1999 and went there for our 1st and14th wedding anniversaries. It is simply a magical place--our wedding could not have been more perfect and the food is ALWAYS great. If you are thinking about planning a small, intimate wedding--then this is the venue. The staff could not have been more helpful and we were able to have everything we requested.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Contrivance Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to King's Contrivance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Contrivance Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.