We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Contrivance Restaurant

King's Contrivance Restaurant
10150 Shaker Dr, Columbia, MD 21046-1304
301-596-3455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Class Act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have been dining at the King's Contrivance Inn for years and have NEVER been disappointed in the food, service and ambiance. The waitstaff are attentive, but not overbearing, scheduling a reservation is painless, one is met at the door by a very courteous greeter, the food is consistently suberb. we especially like the veal and the seafood. There is a wonderful array of desserts, an assortment of teas and coffees to finish off the meal. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great spot for a quiet, quality meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

King's Contrivance has been around for a long time and is a local favorite. It is located inan old mansion. Service was good but not great. Food was excellent. Scallops and pasta were the best we have had and their veal margarita was wonderful. This is a great spot for a special meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My second time here. Very classy, food was delish, great presentation. Great for a special dinner. The fist was cooked to perfection, but could have had a little more going on in the flavor department. The stuffed lobster tail was great from beginning to end.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“I was wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

In my October review, I stated that I was not impressed by the food but that I would give the place another try in a few months. Well, I've returned twice and found things much better than my first visit. I guess anyone can have a bad day! Both of my servers were excellent. I really liked the wedge salad and pork chops on my first return and the shrimp/crab cocktail and Sea Bass on my second return. Lots of crab and really large shrimp. I was still not too impressed but the cocktail or Louis sauce. The pork chop was one of the most tender I've had. A nice reduction sauce. I ordered it with garlic mashed potatoes since I am not partial to sweet potato fries. My wife had my previously disparaged seared scallops (and asked for extra seared) and they were great! And Friday was half-off wine night! What a deal! I'll put this restaurant back on my list of recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant has such great food. The chef makes some of the best Butternut Squash soup. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two. The prix fixe menu is very good as well.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Contrivance Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to King's Contrivance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Contrivance Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.