We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi in Columbia Md Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi-king Restaurant

Sushi-king Restaurant
6490 Dobbin Rd, Columbia, MD 21045-5836
(410) 997-1266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in Columbia Md Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Simply a great spot for Sushi. Very establish place w a nice sushi bar.
Good selection of Rolls as well.

Have gone there many times and never disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    9
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST Sushi Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I am a flight attendant and I have sampled Sushi all over the world. Sushi King is by far the BEST I have ever had. The rolls are unique and extremely fresh. The staff is very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thumbs down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm confused by the positive reviews here, which led me to visit this restaurant. I was very disappointed. I ordered the grilled salmon lunch combination. The salmon was greasy and tough, I couldn't finish it. The miso soup was very salty. My friend order two rolls, which I sampled, and they were average, at best.The service was friendly but very slow. This place is definitely thumbs down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The sushi was delicious and very fresh. The service was excellent. We have eaten there mant times and Will be eating there again soon

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sushi King is the king of sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We like to eat out a lot and we make a point to eat at Sushi King at least once a week.
My wife's mother, who was Japanese, went here for years because of the sushi.
When we first enter the restaurant, the staff greets us with handshakes and friendly hellos.
If you come early at night you get a nice warm towel to clean your hands.
The tea is free and is very tasty. The appetizers to try are agedofu (tempura coated tofu), shumai (mini streamed shrimp dumplings), gyoza (fried meat dumplings) and beef neki maki (beef rolls).
If you order a meal, it comes with miso soup and salad with ginger dressing, both light and delicious. Another soup to try is the seafood soup. It has single pieces of seafood (scallop, fish cake, shrimp) so do not expect a lot. It is just enough for the soup you receive.
The lunches are reasonably priced $8.50 and up and there is a variety to choose from including teriyaki and tempura.
Tonkatsu (fried pork cutlet) is crispy and comes with Bulldog sauce (tangy sauce). Una don (b-que eel on rice) is not fishy tasting and is also very good. It is the same eel as on the sushi.
Of course Sushi King would not be sushi king without the rolls and sashimi.
The specialty rolls are fantastic. If you like spicy, try the explosion roll and volcano roll.
We occasionally get the Sushi platter that has 52 pieces ($72). It's a little pricey but so worth it.
We usually have 2 to 3 people eating from it. There are pieces of shrimp, California rolls, salmon, tuna, clams, etc. The restaurant has the standard (but tasty) sushi rolls and also has a list of 50 special rolls that would satisfy any hardcore sushi fanatic.
My daughter orders the dishes that you can cook at the table: sukiyaki and shabu shabu have beef and yosenabe has seafood.
Nabe Yaki Udon is a soup with large thick noodles and seafood also good.
The desserts are worth a try. They have different kinds of mocha (strawberry my favorite, mango, vanilla, green tea) and tempura fried ice cream.
Keep in mind that the restaurant does open for lunch (11:30 to 3) but closes to prepare for dinner which is from 5 to 10. The restaurant closed on Sundays and certain holidays.
On special occasions, they even have nicely decorated mini cakes.
We cannot say enough wonderful things about Sushi King. A must go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi-king Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sushi-king Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi-king Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.