We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Grill

Stanford Grill
8900 Stanford Blvd, Columbia, MD 21045-5805
410 312-0445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stanford Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 224 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Stanford Grill, food is our passion. Our commitment to ensuring you enjoy your dining experience is illustrated in our approach to the menu. Every day, our chefs handpick the freshest produce. Our chef-inspired dishes are made to order and prepared in our open-air kitchen, making you part of the culinary experience. Come enjoy the ambiance, savor exceptional American cuisine and sample our array of red and white wines. Stanford Grill: American cuisine at its finest.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I'm not familiar with Columbia and was surprised to see how many shopping areas it sprouted in the years since I've been. If you can find the Stanford Grill (tucked behind a Holiday Inn type hotel), it's well worth it. I eat lots of salmon when I'm out and often find it nondescript, overcooked, or dripping with one sauce or another. The salmon here was marinated, smoked and then grilled to perfection. Great service. Decibel level could have been lower.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    123
    67
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Four of us dined there on a Friday evening. We had reservations, but the restaurant was packed and we waited about 10 minutes. Very warm setting. It was very noisy which normally would drive me away. However, our waiter was outstanding and we could hear every word of wonderful descriptions of the specials. I had a filet kebob which was served with fresh grilled vegetables and an orzo pilaf. Quite delicious and generous in size. The guys had the BBQ ribs and pronounced them excellent. We were not there to hear the music, but will do so the next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friday Night out with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first time to Stanford Grill and we were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was. Although, I only had a salad that came with this gigantic piece of cornbread and a vegetable. The food is on the pricey side but very delicious. My only complaint is that the veggies needed to be a little hotter. And if you are a bread pudding lover, you must tries Stanford Grills, its to die for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Upscale casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I rarely see a lot of small children or teens here, which is a plus for me. Much more grown up than the Cheesecake Factory or Changs. Jazz trio adds an air of sophistication, but doesn't feel stuffy. Bar service is consistently good. Roasted chicken is a signature dish....a bit too salty for me but all my friends love it. I swear by the prime rib and the BBQ ribs- always delicious. Reservations a must for weekend dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend had surf and turf with spinach and orzo, and he said it was all cooked perfectly. The spinach did look gorgeous! I had the vegetable plate. The roasted veggies were excellent, but the tomatoes were overwhelmed by their dressing, and the cucumber salad didn't go very well with the rest. All the food was fresh, and portions were large.

The service was efficient. However, we had the world's most loquacious server; she meant well, but she almost drove us crazy. The live jazz was lovely and distracted us from how noisy the place was. If I go back, it will be because I love live music, and not many restaurants have it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanford Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stanford Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.