We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live Jazz and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Grill

Stanford Grill
8900 Stanford Blvd, Columbia, MD 21045-5805
410 312-0445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stanford Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Stanford Grill, food is our passion. Our commitment to ensuring you enjoy your dining experience is illustrated in our approach to the menu. Every day, our chefs handpick the freshest produce. Our chef-inspired dishes are made to order and prepared in our open-air kitchen, making you part of the culinary experience. Come enjoy the ambiance, savor exceptional American cuisine and sample our array of red and white wines. Stanford Grill: American cuisine at its finest.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Live Jazz and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our second time here confirmed our opinion after our first visit...great place to eat while enjoying some live music. Fantastic service and excellent food...fresh and perfectly prepared. Only negative is that it's a bit noisy but that certainly won't keep us from returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    72
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Love, love, loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were staying at the Courtyard Marriott which is next door and I could smell the wonderful food as we entered the hotel. Be sure to let the Stanford Grill know that you are staying at the Marriott, you get a free dessert.

We had a fabulous waiter, Mark who made our visit extra special. We started with calamari which had the best sweet Thai sauce. We then shared one of their roasted chicken haves which was delicious and finished up with the huge piece of key lime pie. It was a perfect meal.

The restaurant is beautiful, service was beyond excellent and the food was delicious. What more could you ask for? It was enough to make me want to stay at that hotel again, that's for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I was excited to try this restaurant on a recent trip as it had been recommended a few times. I got the Crab cakes and a Cesar salad to go and the food was really just okay. For the price and hype, I expected more. Maybe it would have been more amazing if I ate at the restaurant. I did find the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and would give it another try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Based on recommendations from local business contacts, we had a meal at this restaurant. Service was great and the food was excellent! I really liked the crab cakes and the chocolate desert was worth the calories.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went to Stanford Grill with family and because of their recommendation. Nice atmosphere but we were seated by the fireplace, which was on and it was a little warm. They kindly shut it off for us. It was June!!!

We were originally looking at salads but after seeing the roasted chickens go by, I had to try one. I ordered the half chicken and the plate was over flowing. Chicken was very moist and tender, great seasonings and a large portion for the price. The mashed potatoes and green beans were a nice accompniament to the meal.
My Wife stuck with the Rotisserie Chicken Salad. We were both expecting a larger portion, both with the salad and the amount of chicken that was served. While it was tasty, she was not too satisfied with her meal. I would definitely go back but my Wife would order something else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanford Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stanford Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.