We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value-always a good meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's of Columbia

Clyde's of Columbia
10221 Wincopin Cir, Columbia, MD 21044-3423
+1 410-730-2829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's of Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Little Patuxent Parkway, Route 175
Description: Situated between Washington and Baltimore, overlooking Lake Kittamaqundi, Clyde's of Columbia is perfectly situated for good times. Clyde's location attracts nearby shoppers, Merriweather Post Pavilion visitors, businesspeople and families for its great food and friendly atmosphere. The casual setting offers its patrons dining at the long wooden bar, framed by vintage travel posters, or elegant seating along the windows with a view of the lake. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, festivals and concerts attract people from miles around to enjoy the outside pavilion making Clyde's of Columbia a local favorite.
Baltimore-Washington, DC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good value-always a good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

You can't go wrong at Clyde's. It's the perfect place for an informal gathering and the food is prepared efficiently and served with a smile. The brownie sundae is a classic dessert not to be missed.Their salads are excellent too and portions for entrees are also a good size- you will not go wanting. Service is friendly and efficient and though it can get noisy it's the price one pays for this being a very deservedly popular venue. Clyde's is definitely worth it and there is outside seating to enjoy the lakefront view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    73
    30
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is the most popular spot for first time visitors & we took guests to enjoy the Happy Hour by the lake & then dinner al fresco on the Clyde's patio. It coincided with the summer concert series & made it a perfect spot for Clyde's delicious American fare.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“fast service, so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Choosing 3 stars on Yelp means A-OK. Not sure how that makes sense, but to elaborate, my 3 stars means “just ok”.

The wife and I shared appetizers and a double crab cake dinner as well as desserts for a Monday night dinner. One might have thought that because we shared our meals we were seen as cheap and they needed to get us out of there quickly.

I know differently though. We are not cheap, we are trying to watch how much we eat while enjoying as much variety as possible. If you eat the average soup, appetizer, salad, entre and dessert at most restaurants you can take in 3000 calories easily in one meal. That is simply stupid unless you are a body builder.

I used to do metalwork on the kitchen equipment in many Clyde’s kitchens…often overnight. While wrapping up to get out by the time they opened for lunch, I overheard many staff meetings. They are trained to “turn tables” quickly…and they do it well and make good money.

So, don’t be offended by the fast service at Clyde’s, they are simply “that good”.

Unfortunately the food this night was just so-so. We had the crab soup which was wonderful…perfect.

We ordered the heirloom tomato salad. Basically a caprese salad. They should not serve this appetizer unless they have access to real vine ripened tomatoes…they should know better. The tomatoes were not well ripened and not very flavorful and there was nearly zero balsamic dressing or glaze to flavor the plate. We needed salt and lots of pepper to enjoy these nearly flavorless tomatoes.

Next was the double crab cake dinner. They were very accommodating and split the dinner in to two plates for us. Unfortunately the crab cakes needed more flavor and could have been picked through the meat better. We had to endure a lot of shell in our mouths. There was no lemon, no sauce, no remoulade or tartar sauce…or seemingly no salt in the crab cakes. The sear on the crab cakes was perfect though, so the cook did a good job and the cakes were definitely mostly lump crab with little filler. The corn and potatoes served with the cakes were fresh and cooked well, but there was no noticeable trace of herbed butter as advertised on the menu…and again, salt and pepper saved the plate.

Wife had the blueberry cheesecake. Unremarkable.

I had the raspberry sorbet. It was very good, but I do not think it was made in-house.

3 out of five stars simply because there was no excuse for the tomatoes and crab cakes. I expect better from Clyde’s. There is another chain restaurant nearby that specializes in cheesecake. Clyde’s of Columbia may want to consider featuring their product if they can’t make a good cheesecake in-house. My wife said my cheesecake blew this away and I have made cheesecake a total of three times in my life.

Great service. They know how to do food better. They must have not had time to taste the menu items they served us this night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch was lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Friends of mine were regulars at Clyde's when they lived here, and so I joined them for Sunday brunch recently. We got there just as it opened at 10 a.m. Clyde's has done locally-sourced food long before it became trendy. I ordered their ravioli with ratatouille and it was very good. Heavy on the diced vegetables, which were cooked tender so they were identifiable in appearance and taste. My girlfriend ordered an omelet with egg whites, which was misinterpreted by the kitchen as just an egg white omelet without the featured vegetables. The waiter removed it with absolutely no fuss, and returned shortly with a fresh plate and freshly made omelet (in other words, they didn't open the original one up and toss some vegetables in, then send it back to the table). Her husband had the French toast with a side of bacon, which was also nicely done. Endless coffee, and a beautiful view of the lake. We had a lot of catching up to do, and the staff was attentive but didn't push us out either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Queen + Adam Lambert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we ate here before concert - our waitress was awesome. She told us how to walk from hotel to concert venue so we wouldn't be caught up in traffic; food was very good; great beer; and good service

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's of Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Clyde's of Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde's of Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.