We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Grove

Mango Grove
8865 Stanford Blvd, LAKESIDE RETAIL, Columbia, MD 21045-4738
+1 410-884-3426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 220 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Asian fusion, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Authentic Indian Cuisine -Light, Healthy & Delicious. Open EVERYDAY for Lunch & Dinner
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We had a good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had great food, excellent service, and we didn't order alcohol or the buffet. I had recently gone to another Indian restaurant in the same neighborhood and I had much better food here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    25
    16
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The restaurant may be worth visiting for those interested in an inexpensive buffet without alcohol, but those who want to dine ala carte with wine should stay away. The staff is so focused on keeping the buffet tables filled that they tend to ignore ala carte customers who tend to spend much more. Furthermore, the wine selection is very poor and mark-up is unreasonable. I paid $8.00 for a five ounce pour of shiraz that costs $6.99 per 25 ounce bottle at my wine retailer. My case price is $5.25 a bottle.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Outstanding Authentic Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is absolutely delightful. I loved the authentic cuisine. The food was clean and healthy filled with rich flavors. The service was excellent and it was good see the same staff as always. I love coming here and will continue to return. I came here on valentines days and they had a special menu. It was a very nice evening with live music and even a rose at the end of the meal. I look forward to devouring the buffet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Mango Grove is one of our favorite restaurants for lunch. They feature a buffet with both pure vegetarian and non veg selections. We are vegetarian and fine the variety and temperature of the food to be two of the best features. They bring hot roti the table and also hot mini doses. yummy! There is a separate salad/condiment bar with the usual selection of chutney, raita, and fresh sliced fruit. My husband likes the fact that the no meat dishes are very separately situated from the vegetarian selections.

The tables and booths are plentiful, everything is clean and -- a big plus for me is ...they use metal flatware...no plastic!!!

The wait staff is friendly, attentive and keep the water coming. There are usually 5 to 7 hot selections, plus the four or so dishes of chicken, goat, fish items prepared in different ways. The there are two hot soups offered, and the dals taste homemade!

The only thing missing is the complimentary hot chai! This would really kick the experience up a notch. I cannot imagine an Indian buffet without Chai...most other Indian restaurants in the area do provide fee Chai with buffet.

But, except for that this Restaurant is worth a visit. We sometimes visit twice or more a month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the worst restaurants we've ever visited.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once was enough. There were two couples in the restaurant. Service was slow. The plates were dirty and were replaced with equally dirty plates. The food tasted like there was sand in it. When we mentioned this the first thing she said was they washed the vegetables and since our dish had none we knew three things - 1) they never washed vegetables, 2) they had contaminant issues prior to our complaint, and 3) she was lying. We never went back. The best thing for Columbia would be if something else moved in here. Anything, even a fast food joint, would be better than this place. They have no idea what they are doing except how to take advantage of customers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Grove also viewed

 

Been to Mango Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.