We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Authentic Indian Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Grove

Mango Grove
8865 Stanford Blvd, LAKESIDE RETAIL, Columbia, MD 21045-4738
+1 410-884-3426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Asian fusion, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Authentic Indian Cuisine -Light, Healthy & Delicious. Open EVERYDAY for Lunch & Dinner
Falls Church, Va
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Outstanding Authentic Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is absolutely delightful. I loved the authentic cuisine. The food was clean and healthy filled with rich flavors. The service was excellent and it was good see the same staff as always. I love coming here and will continue to return. I came here on valentines days and they had a special menu. It was a very nice evening with live music and even a rose at the end of the meal. I look forward to devouring the buffet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Mango Grove is one of our favorite restaurants for lunch. They feature a buffet with both pure vegetarian and non veg selections. We are vegetarian and fine the variety and temperature of the food to be two of the best features. They bring hot roti the table and also hot mini doses. yummy! There is a separate salad/condiment bar with the usual selection of chutney, raita, and fresh sliced fruit. My husband likes the fact that the no meat dishes are very separately situated from the vegetarian selections.

The tables and booths are plentiful, everything is clean and -- a big plus for me is ...they use metal flatware...no plastic!!!

The wait staff is friendly, attentive and keep the water coming. There are usually 5 to 7 hot selections, plus the four or so dishes of chicken, goat, fish items prepared in different ways. The there are two hot soups offered, and the dals taste homemade!

The only thing missing is the complimentary hot chai! This would really kick the experience up a notch. I cannot imagine an Indian buffet without Chai...most other Indian restaurants in the area do provide fee Chai with buffet.

But, except for that this Restaurant is worth a visit. We sometimes visit twice or more a month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the worst restaurants we've ever visited.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once was enough. There were two couples in the restaurant. Service was slow. The plates were dirty and were replaced with equally dirty plates. The food tasted like there was sand in it. When we mentioned this the first thing she said was they washed the vegetables and since our dish had none we knew three things - 1) they never washed vegetables, 2) they had contaminant issues prior to our complaint, and 3) she was lying. We never went back. The best thing for Columbia would be if something else moved in here. Anything, even a fast food joint, would be better than this place. They have no idea what they are doing except how to take advantage of customers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Way to Go, Mango Grove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Mango Grove at its new location and with the addition of an excellent buffet is now our go-to vegan eating option in Columbia.

The food here is simply delicious, and the majority is vegan.

If you visit for the buffet, make sure to try the broccoli - I hate broccoli in every other instance I've ever had it - but this stuff is amazing. It is the main reason I visit the buffet!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Southern Indian Vegetarian (has another menu with meat)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Terrific food. Try the dosai. Unusual to find Southern Indian cooking. Worth aa trip. Service was fine. Pretty setting and table.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Grove also viewed

 

Been to Mango Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.