We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food varies with Cook” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Manor Restaurant

Hunan Manor Restaurant
7091 Deepage Dr, Columbia, MD 21045-5219
410-381-1134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food varies with Cook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been there several times and found that the quality and spiciness of the food varies. It is usually pretty good food and the staff is very good. We went there on 2014 New Years Day and the best cooks must have been off. Our food came out lukewarm, bland and not together this time but that is not usually the case. We were there a week before and the food and services was much better.
Ambiance: The aquariums in the dining room and the fountain in the lobby are pretty and interesting to look at while you are waiting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Mi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Special Chinese Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed a delicious dinner recently at Hunan Manor. The restaurant was recommended by our son-in-law, a frequent restaurant goer, who grew up in the area. The decor is more elegant than your typical Chinese restaurant and the food was excellent. Our table was next to a lovely wall aquarium that served as a room divider. The menu is extensive. Be prepared though, it is all a la carte, so with appetizers, soup and drinks, it was more expensive than your average Chinese restaurant. Entrees were brought on large platters, so could be easily shared. The Sesame Chicken and General Tso's Chicken were very tender and tasty. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special adult evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Tasteless, watery Chinese food crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

What a disappointment for such a huge price! The Singapore Rice Noodles had no seasoning - they tasted like Ramen noodles. The Beef Szechuan was all carrots with a small number of beef strips, and the Honey Sesame Chicken was dried up. Three dinners but only two fortune cookies. Terrible restaurant - I will drive to Fort Meade for better Chinese food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to have a Chinese Dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's one of best place I went to Chinese restaurant around area.
Specially, love seafood and vegetables.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently great Chinese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I eat here at least twice a week and the food is consistently great and the service is very good. No matter your preference, the chicken, pork, fish or beef are consistently good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Manor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Manor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.