We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ASEAN Bistro

ASEAN Bistro
8775 Centre Park Dr, Ste 7, Columbia, MD 21045-2108
410-772-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 204 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

First of all, this bistro has a very nice atmosphere! With their cozy architecture, tables, chairs to the band that plays music while people dine. Food is amazing! Their Pan fried noodles is a must try along with their chicken lettuce wrap. It was my first time and will definitely go back for more. I recommend this place for a first date or a family dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Asian Food at Deliciously Reasonable Cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Jesse Wong's Asean Bistro www.aseanbistro.com provides delicious food served in a relaxed atmosphere. The prices are reasonable for lunch or dinner. It's often our go-to-place for guaranteed good meal and service. It's a favorite among the area locals. Absolutely unpretentious! Whenever friends visit Columbia www.columbiamd.com, we take them to the Asean Bistro. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Used to be great but not anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I live a few miles from the Asean Bistro, it's been our go-to for Chinese food for about 10 years. In the last year, the food quality has really slipped. Now we'll only order the appetizers and even then we keep it simple. Egg drop soup, veggie spring rolls, chicken satay, those are all still pretty good. Everything else on the menu tastes like frozen food service food, tossed into a deep fryer. It all used to be so fresh and delicious, it always tasted chef prepared, but their level of quality has really slipped. We ordered carryout last night for the last time. I had the egg drop and the chicken satay, it was acceptable. My husband had the sweet and sour pork, it was the last thing on the menu he would still eat, but this time it tasted bad. Rubbery pork, definitely frozen nuggets made off-site in a factory somewhere, tossed in a frier and then covered with a jar of pink sauce. We were so disappointed. Unfortunately, I don't think we'll be going back anymore. We've given them many opportunities to come back up to par but they haven't. It's a shame, The Asean Bistro used to be so good, one of our favorites. Not anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great atmosphere, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall we had a very nice dinner. The restaurant layout is great and stylish partitions allow for privacy which allows for a great dining atmosphere. The service was very good and attentive--our water glasses were always full.

We started with the Red Sauced Wontons which were really too spicy to eat (a lot of chili sauce). We probably left half of it uneaten because it sets your mouth on fire. The entrees we got were DELICIOUS. We ordered the Crispy Boneless Duck W/ Chef's Brown Sauce and the Supreme Crispy Eggplant and couldn't decide which one we liked more. Would definitely recommend both of those dishes,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Average asian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

On the way to a concert we decided to stop here my 1stniece problem is after we ordered our takeout the gentleman asked us if we needed plates. We said yes. not only did we not get plates no forks either. Food was average
tasting . I would rather be at a japenese rest. Or pf changs. If im in the area i may give them another chance. But i would really have to be in the mood for chinese.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASEAN Bistro also viewed

 

Been to ASEAN Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASEAN Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.