We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, great atmosphere, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ASEAN Bistro

ASEAN Bistro
8775 Centre Park Dr, Ste 7, Columbia, MD 21045-2108
410-772-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 204 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great atmosphere, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall we had a very nice dinner. The restaurant layout is great and stylish partitions allow for privacy which allows for a great dining atmosphere. The service was very good and attentive--our water glasses were always full.

We started with the Red Sauced Wontons which were really too spicy to eat (a lot of chili sauce). We probably left half of it uneaten because it sets your mouth on fire. The entrees we got were DELICIOUS. We ordered the Crispy Boneless Duck W/ Chef's Brown Sauce and the Supreme Crispy Eggplant and couldn't decide which one we liked more. Would definitely recommend both of those dishes,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Average asian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

On the way to a concert we decided to stop here my 1stniece problem is after we ordered our takeout the gentleman asked us if we needed plates. We said yes. not only did we not get plates no forks either. Food was average
tasting . I would rather be at a japenese rest. Or pf changs. If im in the area i may give them another chance. But i would really have to be in the mood for chinese.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This a great place for an inexpensive lunch, much more cheaper than their dinners, but the same great food. The lunch menu is smaller, but good variety. You get an entree, soup or egg roll & a buffet of yummy appetizers. My wife and I go here for a date lunch often. I love their "Morengo Delight" - diced chicken & shrimp in a spicy plumb sauce with peanuts. She likes their chicken with spicy green beans. Never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose to go out for Easter dinner this year to one of my father's favorite places, Asean Bistro. The atmosphere is intimate and upscale, perfect for families and date night. Portions were plentiful - I had the special, Pan-fried Grouper with Sweet Basil Sauce. The filet was huge. It was served with white rice and I had the Thai House Salad to accompany. Other selections ordered were: Whole Rockfish Fried with choice of sauce; Seafood Combination, and Combination Fried Rice. All dishes were excellent. Service was very friendly and attentive (especially since my father is a regular!). I would also recommend their other location, Jesse Wong's Hong Kong, in Timonium, MD.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, eclectic food; Great ambiance; Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow - this has to be the best restaurant I have tried in my many travels to Columbia, MD!! The menu was varied, with great seafood choices and lots of sauces. The waiter was helpful in recommending selections for me. I got the Salmon in black bean sauce and a side of Mala Green Beans. Both were excellent. Service was quick and attentive on the Tuesday evening I visited (granted, the restaurant wasn't very full, but still, the wait staff was excellent in tending to my needs).
Wine list by the glass is limited. However, on Tuesday evenings, they offer bottles of wine at 50% off, and you can take home what you don't drink! Unfortunately for me, I wasn't aware of the 50% off deal until after I had ordered and received a glass of wine.
I will definitely return to Jesse Wong's Asean Bistro!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASEAN Bistro also viewed

 

Been to ASEAN Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASEAN Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.