We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adding to June 6 Review...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
6181 Columbia Crossing Cir, Columbia, MD 21045-8206
410-872-0626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Adding to June 6 Review...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After posting about the horrible visit we had at the Columbia location, we also posted on the Corporate website. We received an email response saying a senior manager would be contacting us. We did receive a personal call from the area manager in Arizona. He was genuinely concerned about our visit and offered us gift cards to make up for our less than stellar dinner in June!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    7
    11
    9
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Since we decided to go on a Saturday, we weren't sure how long it would be. We were certainly surprised when there was no wait at 6:30. My husband and I got the same thing-Penne Rustica. It was very hot and their great bread made it a wonderful, filling meal. They really have their act together-as soon as someone finished, there was a busboy cleaning the table and within seconds, it was ready for the next party. We've eaten there many times and have always had good service and good food. Plus there is always easy parking at this location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bit of Italy in Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Romano's is a chain but does not seem like this when you eat here.
The fresh rosemary bread is so good to dip with olive oil and its free.
Romano's have many tapas like zucchini fritti (thinly cut zucchini like potato chips) and chianti sausage and crispy potatoes.
We order the create your pasta with your choice of pasta, sauce, vegetables (up to 3, broccolini, garlic, tomatoes, mushrooms, asparagus, spinach, peppers), Extras (chicken, meatball, Italian sausage, roasted eggplant, 2 for $5)
There is definitely enough for two meals.
You can get a side salad with this. The house salad has a nice oil dressing.
If you have room, get a dessert too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love this restaurant, and have used it so many times I finally decided to write a review. The food is always delicious (especially the Chicken Marsala dish) and I have always found service reasonably prompt and friendly. The bread served at the start of the meal is cooked on the premises and is presented with olive oil to dunk the bread. You just have to be careful you don't eat too much of it....it is SO good! The ambiance of the restaurant is lovely with a warm fire crackling in the winter time. They sing for birthdays too, and the Italian tenor I heard last time deserved an encore.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Our waitress couldn't be bothered....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

While in the area for a girl’s basketball tournament, we tried to find a place to eat about 9:00 pm. We called ahead and were seated right away. There were 4 adults and 4 teens. Our waitress was sassy right away with us. When we asked a question or for example, extra grated cheese, she always came back with a smart answer. Like, "well you get grated cheese on your meal"... well, I asked for extra - why is that a problem? She really couldn't be bothered to wait on us. Heck, the pace is open until 11 PM, so why is 9:00 pm too late to get decent food and service?

When the made to order pasta came for several of us, the sauces were wrong, the shrimp one was supposed to be chicken and one was stone cold. When the waitress took the cold one back to reheat it, it took 15 minutes. Our kids were starving after playing basketball all day, so the ones with the wrong pasta combinations tried to eat them anyway. Except when it came to the shrimp - they were so overcooked they were inedible, even mine and I'm not overly picky. When one of the moms asked our waitress to take the extra $4 for shrimp off her bill since the shrimp were too hard to eat, she said okay. She said she would do that for all the pasta/shrimp dinners.

Later when our bills came the shrimp charge was not removed and we discovered why our waitress didn't care too much - she slapped us each with a 18% gratuity - no way were we paying that. We got up and took our checks to the bar to have them adjusted and our waitress swooped in on us snatching the checks from us. To end this long, horrible, saga…We did find the manager, who after another 30 minutes figured out the computer cash register and took the inedible food off our bill. He did, however, ask us to tell our waitress next time there is a problem with our food. Oh my - too funny - I guess five plus times or so wasn't enough. We won't be back and sadly it will be hard for me to return to a Macaroni Grill - we went to Carrabba's the next day in Ellicott City and it was wonderful!

P.S. I know the waitress' name since she wrote it on our table, but I don't want to see anyone lose their job. Maybe she will read this and learn from it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.