We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Sono

Sushi Sono
10215 Wincopin Cir, Ste 101, Columbia, MD 21044
+1 410-997-6131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 236 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This restaurant, on the edge of the lake, offers good sushi (large portions) in relaxed and friendly surroundings. The waiting staff are helpful and ready to chat, share a joke.

There are taster menus and plenty to choose from if you already know your sushi!

Some dishes are house specialities - don't miss the chance to try something new!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leytonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Above the Norm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Made the journey based upon the recommendation of a friend. We were warmly greeted and seated quickly. Service was exceptionally attentive with drinks topped off and empty plates removed most promptly. We enjoyed the sushi sampler, several of the daily specials and some ala carte standard selections. The dragon roll and tempura soft crab were outstandind, although our clan of sushi-lovers found each dish a cut above. Save a trip to LA or Morimito's in Philly this place serves the best sushi we've had. It's well worth the trip for the quality; the friendly service and nice lakeftont views are icing on the cake. We'll definitely be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belgianbeerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A wonderful sushi experience. Terrific staff. Looking forward to visiting again and enjoying the wonderful fare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been to dozens of sushi restaurants all over the country. This ranks up there with the best. Service is excellent, and the Royal Crab Roll is absolutely awesome -- impossible to get just one. Hard to get just two!

We went on a Tuesday in October and the place was packed; apparently it's no secret how excellent this restaurant is!

I've been here three or four times. Always impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Best Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I never pass up an opportunity to eat at Sushi Sono as I rarely get down to Columbia, MD so when I was down there this weekend I knew I had to go.

If you love sushi you will love this restaurant, it is the best sushi I have ever had, hands down. I have never had a bad roll or entree meal here. The fish is always super fresh and they some unique rolls I have never seen or eaten anywhere else.

My personal favorite I had this weekend was the Seafood roll (which is baked). The other rolls we had were the crispy roll (never seen any where else), the Sono Roll (their veggie roll w/ mushrooms and NO cucumber), and the rainbow roll (classic and yummy). All of them were wonderful.

The service is always great and the sushi comes out faster then any where else I have ever been. I have never sat at the sushi bar or in the traditional rooms but I am sure they are great too.

Can't wait until my next visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Sono also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Sono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing