We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Sono

Sushi Sono
10215 Wincopin Cir, Ste 101, Columbia, MD 21044-3440
410-997-6131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

In search of sushi after a Friday swim (Aug. 3rd), I found this hidden gem in the coutyard of Kings Contrivance around 6:00pm. It's a small, quaint place that was relaxing, quiet, classy and charming. The hostesses and chef were genuine, polite and friendly. They were attentive to allergies, happy to answer multiple questions, and made recommendations that suited my needs. As a party of one at the unoccupied bar, I enjoyed listening to classical music playing faintly in the background, while watching the chef transform delicate pieces of fish and vegetables into incredible edible art. I have eaten sushi in several places in the Baltimore-Washington DC/MD/VA area and the level of artistry in which the sushi is presented is unmatched. More importantly, at Nori, the sushi is delicious! Fresh, melt-in-your-mouth, heavenly kind of delicious! I ordered seaweed salad (which was enough for two), the "Cherry Blossom" and a garden delight (cucumber wrapped four fish types with roe). Edamame was served warm with a hint of salt to start. Total of about twenty generous sushi rolls, salad and appetizer for $26. When my food arrived so artfully prepared, I was sad to ruin such masterpieces, but my hunger quickly urged me to sample the perfect bites. Ahhh, pure bliss! So good! I am sure glad I found this place. The wait staff was lovely. Kept my water glass full and checked on me without overbearance. With art consumed, plates empty, tummy content I thought nothing could top this treat. Then I was served cinnamon tea. The perfect ending to a most delightful meal. The subtle sweetness of the tea was great. I look forward to my next visit to Nori.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This sushi was fantastic! Very fresh and very affordable. Non-sushi eaters became sushi-eaters, an overall great experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Made me a sushi convert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've never been into sushi before. For a long time, I would avoid it or at best, I wasn't excited. But now, I crave Sushi Sono. They have the most unique options -- ask for things not on the menu! Their seafood soup in a pot is awesome. We always eat more than we need because it tastes so good! It can be expensive if you don't focus on rolls (we don't) but that is par for the course in high grade sushi. Its a really great place to go with 8 people and sit in the special room with the sunken table -- we did this to celebrate a birthday and it was very memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fast service, friendly servers, and EXCELLENT sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stopped by Sushi Sono to pick up a gift card for a co-worker and decided to treat myself to dinner. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the lake and the servers wear traditional Japanese dresses. All of the servers were very nice, I could hear them pleasantly helping diners pick the appropriate sushi to suit their tastes - even customizing rolls for them. I chose the Royal Crab Roll ($15) and Crispy Spicy Tuna Roll ($7). The servers help one another so service is prompt and efficient, my water and tea cups were repeatedly refreshed. My rolls arrived in approx. 5 minutes - both were outstanding! This restaurant is by far the best sushi in Columbia - possibly even the Baltimore area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“most gracious owner and excellent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I've eaten here a few times and want to comment on the woman who appears to be the owner. Every time I've been here she has been very friendly and works hard to accommodate even those adults and children who are less than gracious. It is obvious why so many people return because of her effort to personally connect with each guest.

The sushi has always been excellent and tastes fresh.

The wait staff is also very attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Sono also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Sono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Sono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.