We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Sono

Sushi Sono
10215 Wincopin Cir, Ste 101, Columbia, MD 21044-3440
410-997-6131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Love, Love Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Their sushi is the best. A little pricey, but worth it. Try the crispy snowball and the hurricane eye. Yummy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Restaurant in Howard County if not Maryland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I travel frequently and eat sushi in most cities where I dare; Sushi Sono is the best, freshest sushi restaurant I've ever found on the east coast. Reservations are highly recommended. Check the "specials board" on the wall behind the chefs. I like to go with larger groups which makes ordering easier; I order one of each chef special and then seconds of that groups favorites. The list of sushi rolls is extensive including shrimp, lobster and real crab. This has been both my daughters' birthday restaurant choice for many years (10+ years)! The menu includes enough non-fish items that visitors who prefer not eating fish or seafood have still left satisfied. The menu even includes a couple vegetarian rolls. Waitresses and Chef's are in traditional Japanese cloths. Lilly is our favorite waitress. They serve the usual selection of several traditional Japanese Beers; I like Kirin Ichiban. They also have Sake and Plum Wine. The better Sake, served cold, is my wife's favorite beverage.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went here for dinner on the Thursday after Christmas. I was very surprised that it was so busy! We were greeted and seated immediately, even though the place was PACKED. Our server took our drink order right away and brought over hot, fresh, towels to clean our hands and faces. It was a very lovely experience.
We ordered 6 different rolls from the menu, including the Hurricane Eye Roll. I can't tell you how incredibly fresh and delicious the rolls tasted!
The food was fantastic and the prices were very reasonable.
I wish I lived closer...I know my son and daughter in law go here on a regular basis but the food was FANTASTIC!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Top Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Excellent restaurant hidden from the street but way worth the little walk. First suggestion, make a reservation. Sushi and rolls are excellent. Try the chef specials, they are more expensive but delicious and beautifully presented. Tempuras are very good as well. We order a few of everything and share. However, it is expensive. Assume at least $50/pp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I eat here as often as time and budget allow! I could live on the salmon sashimi, always super fresh and perfect. Rolls are great, too, especially the spicy ones! Lily, my favorite server, always makes me laugh with her no-nonsense attitude but warm and genuine smile!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Sono also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Sono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Sono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.