We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curry & Kabob

Curry & Kabob
1045 Twin River Rd, Columbia, MD 21044
410-715-8777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 225 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Really a wonderful hidden Gem in Columbia. Our family gets food from this restaurant at least once a month and the service and food is second to none. Don't let the construction at WL village center turn you away it is completely worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delivering the Spicy Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Please Note: This review of their food is from a grubHub delivery - We did NOT visit the restaurant.

Sometimes you just need the hot spicy exotic spices of East India. The soft warming reassurance of Naan bread, the cooling refreshment of a good yoghurt Raita, and the spicy crunchy fun of Papadam. Curry and Kabob delivers it (though a bit slowly) and more!

The Chat Papri was amazing - I'm sure it got a bit LESS crispy in the delivery process but we found this app quite addictive and a healthy portion for sharing! Crispy home made chips tossed with cool cucumber, chick peas, tomatoes, diced onion, & cilantro then drizzled with spicy & sweet sauces. YUM! Crave-able!

12 Piece Momo, a Nepali App, was also fantastic! Plump pinched steamed dumplings filled with spices & chicken and served with a wonderfully tangy dipping sauce. Great buy - 12 pot stickers at $8.95!

Entree wise we also got Chicken Tikka Masala, which was delish, as well as the Shrimp Tandoori.

Sure the bread prices seem higher than local take-aways but they're double sized! One order is really like two!

Don't forget to order much needed accompaniments like cool yoghurt Raita 2.95 and crispy Papadam. (Though you get spoiled getting that for free when dining in, don't you?)

All in all, we were quite pleased with this order & had leftovers for days!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Different tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant run by Nepalese has food from Nepal and India. It is well prepared and the dishes are large and well worth the cost...which is not expensive. The servers and owners are pleasant and wanting to please and will answer questions. It is a bit out of the way but worth looking for....its buffet lunch is incredible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Try the momo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

They have one of the best momo's I have had here in Maryland. If you haven't had them before they are like pot stickers you find in Chinese restaurants only better. They don't use a lot of spice for people who don't like spicy so it's American friendly. Everything else on the menu you can tell them the level of spicy you want. I personally like the chicken choyla you can find it under Nepali appetizers along with momo. I hope my review was helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“'Seekh" and You Shall Find - A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

With all of the construction going on at the Wilde Lake Village Center in Columbia, it's not easy to find Curry and Kabob if you approach the Center from the wrong side. But it's worth the effort. And hopefully this "hidden gem" - in plain sight on the quaint and charming Village Green - but approachable from the Interfaith Center side where there is ample parking - will survive the construction that blocks access from the other side of the Center.

Why is it worth "seekhing" out? Simply because the food, the service, the pleasant ambiance, and the prices are all so appealing. We had a great dinner, including the vegetarian assorted appetizer, garlic naan, chicken tika marsala, and chicken seekh (actual spelling) kabob, and it was sumptuous, and cooked with just the right degree of spiciness as we requested. The food was simply delicious.

We hate to quote Yelp because we are Trip Advisor fans, but with 35 reviews they give Curry and Kabob a rating of 4.5 out of 5, while Trip Advisor only had one prior review (exactly a year ago) and the reviewer awarded an overall score of only 3 out of 5 while praising the food.

So I hope we have more Trip Advisor reviewers who can provide a broader based indication of how good this place really is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry & Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Curry & Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry & Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.