We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy Alternative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill - CLOSED

Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill
6455 Dobbin Rd. #45, Columbia, MD 21045
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Healthy Alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is a fresh healthy alternative to the countless other places out there for lunch. The food is really good and delicious. The staff are always friendly and smile. That is important when these days customer service is dying out. They always offer free samples even if you have been there several time. I recommend this place for lunch.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fresh and healthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you like foods such as falafel, hummus, and eggplant dip, this is the place for you. The format is similar to Chipotle Mexican, except with Mediterranean food instead. You go to the counter and they will fill your plate or pita with whatever you like. They cheerfully offer free samples of anything available, too. The prices and value are very good. The restaurant is clean and attractive. Be sure to try the homemade chips! They offer some delicious teas I have not seen anywhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not just an alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is not just a place for an occasional alternative meal, I could see going here regularly. They have a good selection of food for all tastes and moods, including beef, chicken and vegetarian. You can get it in different forms like wraps, sandwich, pita, or salad. They have a nice selection of soup as well. And try the lemon grass ginger iced tea, its quite excellent.

Also surprising is the fact that the dolma are really pretty good. The felafel is ok...I like it well enough but its not my favorite. It was a little crunchier, coarser and maybe a little overcooked for my preference. The chicken shawarma is excellent.

What really gets me is the portion size. I stuffed myself silly for about $11. While the meal deal seems like a good value, you might want to take some home, or opt out of the deal if you're not hungry enough to eat the side dish.

The place is clean and friendly. Plenty of seating. Free internet, including a few tables next to plugs. I haven't tried ordering online yet but that seems like a great feature if you're in a hurry. They do have a frequent diner program, which starts with a free felafel side when you sign up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So delicious and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The new Mediterranean restaurant in local Columbia is far from bland! WIth so many options, falafel, warm pita, toubouleh, baba ganoush, homemade chips,and the delicious hummus you wont miss out on a thing! They have chicken shwarma thats amazing as well. A must try! and much needed in Columbia since everything else is a typical chain.....I will be going back very soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.