We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific guac and ceviche. Super margaritas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xitomate

Xitomate
5850 Waterloo Road, Columbia, MD
14107508787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 202 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific guac and ceviche. Super margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

New mexican restaurant in Columbia, MD. Sister of Azul 17. Located where Donna's Coffee used to be. Terrific guacamole that they prepare fresh in a stone bowl. Their special had crab mixed in and was awesome. The shrimp ceviche was sharp and spicy. Simply wonderful. One of us had fajitas which was fine though not special. Another had steak quesadilla which was excellent. Another had the shrimp culichi which was a creamy delight. I had the chilpachole which as full of shellfish and just lovely. The margaritas are a specialty of theirs and well worth getting. Service was fine. Definitely not your usual tacos and burritos place, much more upscale.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    30
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have eaten here several times and was always satisfied Service has been great, drinks excellent, and the food good

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spicy Cerviche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ok another favorite of my family. Great authentic mexican food and great drinks. The place gets crowded fast so try to get there early. I do think they can improve upon the guacamole but they do make it fresh at your table. Love the lamb and steak.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Food hit and miss. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ate here for second time and was a little disappointed. The drinks are excellent but the service was poor. They forgot our guacamole and it came after our meal arrived. The guacamole was horrible. Too much lime to the point that I did not eat it. The fajita was average. The civiche was the only redeeming food I tried. Could be better as the menu has lots of interesting food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not your mama's TexMex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a great little secret spot that is in a nondescript business center but well worth looking for. The prices are extremely reasonable and the food is awesome. This is true Mexican (not TexMex) food. Each meal is made fresh from scratch and tastes like it. My burrito with mole was fantastic. The staff and owner were extremely friendly and served some great margaritas. If you like Tequila they have an excellent selection and make some truly wonderful drinks. I will go back to eat there everytime I am in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xitomate also viewed

 
Ellicott City, MD
 

Been to Xitomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xitomate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.