We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Authentic Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xitomate

Xitomate
5850 Waterloo Road, Columbia, MD
14107508787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The first thing that most people have to realize is that this is not a tex-mex restaurant it's a Mexican restaurant. Don't expect queso with you chips or other tex-mex things. We first checked this place out when it first opened and decided to return again.

People seem to either love or hate the nachos. They are served fresh and they are thicker then you see in most tex-mex restaurants. My wife, kids, and I loved them. Everything including the salsa has a smoked taste to it, so if you are not a fan of that flavor this might not be the place for you. Last time we came both my wife and I tried the tacos, we weren't really impressed that time. This time we branched out. I got a Tilapea dish and my wife got a chicken in cream sauce dish. Both were excellent. They have a great selection of alcoholic drinks. No matter whether you are a fan of margaritas, tequila, beer or wine they have something on the list you will probably like. Since the first time we visited they added a kids menu. My kids like the selections. The service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    25
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“They can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

While they have typical Mexican food, they seem to be pre preparing things to make it seem that the food served is not made to order. The chips were overdone, the tortillas were likely folded earlier in the day and kept warm so they were also hard and the rice and bean sides were served barely warm. The portions are small for the prices, which seemed high. The hot plate under the fajitas was barely hot so that the small portion of peppers and onions was greasy and also cool. The chicken dishes were good. It was interesting that they could not spare a few small pieces of tomato with the fajitas. The other reviewers were right - the place is noisy.
So, bottom line -- if they will try a little harder with fresh preparation so the food is not served mostly cool and increase their portions slightly, they may be worth the price,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent regional Mexican fare, but stay away from Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The food here is fantastic, definitely authentic and flavorful. Not too many other places in the area have nopal on the menu or incorporate so much chipotle flavor. My advice is to sample the guacamole (the chipotle-flavored version is the best!) and experiment with a dish you have never tried before. If you try to stick with the conventional offerings, you might be disappointed.

The margaritas are awesome but sort of expensive.

Do not come here for brunch. The only quality options are egg-based dishes, and even those were prepared poorly on my last visit. Stick to happy hour or dinner for the best deals!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good "Sophisticated" Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We tried out Xitomate as we had noticed it recently and thought their menu looked interesting. It was fairly empty when we went, probably due to the Memorial Day weekend and people out doing other things. Water and chips and salsa were brought out quickly. We saw that the first round of chips and salsa are complimentary, after that it is $2. We thought that they portion of salsa that came with the chips was pretty small, we liked it but felt like there was not nearly enough for a basket of chips. We felt it was a little bit of nickle and diming considering the other prices on the menu. We started off with the Rojo guacamole which was excellent, quite spicy, flavorful, and nice ripe avocados. A second round of chips were included with the guacamole. We tried the Mango Habanero margarita which was also very good, nice mix of sweet and hot. We thought the size was small though, and as other reviewers have mentioned the glass was mostly ice. We also tried the guava cilantro margarita which was ok, mostly tasted like a traditional margarita. Also had a Dos Equis Amber draft.

My wife had the chicken and shrimp with creamy tequila sauce and balsamic reduction, while I had the filet burrito with wine sauce and creamy tequila sauce. Both were very good and came with cilantro rice which was tasty. Decent sized portions but not huge. We thought both were well prepared and flavorful. The bill which included the two margaritas, a beer, guacamole, two entrees, and tip came to $80, which we though was a little high for what you get, but not overly expensive. They are certainly going for a higher end experience than a typical mexican restaurant with traditional fare. Service was excellent, but it was empty so not sure how that would translate to a busy night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Post Cinco de Mayo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good seasonal gauc with a seafood flare
Quick service, even when busy
small portion sizes
Don't forget the Atomic fireballs on the way out!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xitomate also viewed

 

Been to Xitomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xitomate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.