We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and fun time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
6480 Dobbin Center Way, Columbia, MD
4435463640
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 7 Bars & Pubs in Columbia
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
ellico
2 reviews
“Good food and fun time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

fun atmosphere. been here a few times. the tostado nachos were awesome and so were the jalapeno/cilantro mussels. food timing is a little off..so you may want to eat an appetizer first and order the meal halfway through. Otherwise, food comes almost all at the same time. Service was friendly. good beer selection--really enjoyed the Merry Monk, Abbey ale. Lots of Tv to watch the games.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pamela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Beer was the best part of the night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation, I checked in at the front desk and was told to wait to be seated. After 15 minutes, I checked again, and they had forgotten about us. Our dinner order had minor amendments to the standard order: no onions on a pizza, no green olives on a pizza and a hamburger cooked medium. To our surprise none of our requests were honored. The pizza with the green olives was the only plate we returned to the kitchen and we waited and waited for another pizza to arrive. We had already finished eating our entrees when the pizza was brought out only to find the bottom burnt to a crisp. Needless to say, it was inedible but we didn't complain much as the manager had already apologized and told us he had taken it off our dinner tab. Overall the food was not that spectacular and I think we could find an extensive beer menu somewhere else where the kitchen cares about getting the order correct.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected Swank!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived expecting another run-of-the-mill tap house with all of the customary scenery, but was quite surprised at the upscale decor and layout. This establishment appears to be attempting to cater to a younger, hipster crowd (our impression, at least), but they've done a great job at creating an appealing place for all types. Nice job incorporating a sports aspect in with a bit of nightlife swank. Extensive beer selection on tap, but we weren't overly impressed with the house brews we had. Food was pretty good for the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BictheMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ale House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is fairly new to Columbia but has moved quickly to a popular place to hang out, have dinner. Excellent customer relations and attention paid to the customer. Food is hot and large portions. Very reasonable in their prices and of course a large variety of Beer - it is an ale house!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and i went here on last weekend. The service left a lot to be desired. We waited about 40 minutes for our food. It was not crowded. When the manager asked us how things were, i mentioned the food taking a long time, it did not appear to me that he cared.

My wife got a turkey burger that seemed a little over cooked. I got the Brewhouse Pretzel starter with a side of fries. It was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Speedracer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing