We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and fun time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
6480 Dobbin Center Way, Columbia, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
ellico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food and fun time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

fun atmosphere. been here a few times. the tostado nachos were awesome and so were the jalapeno/cilantro mussels. food timing is a little off..so you may want to eat an appetizer first and order the meal halfway through. Otherwise, food comes almost all at the same time. Service was friendly. good beer selection--really enjoyed the Merry Monk, Abbey ale. Lots of Tv to watch the games.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The Beer was the best part of the night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation, I checked in at the front desk and was told to wait to be seated. After 15 minutes, I checked again, and they had forgotten about us. Our dinner order had minor amendments to the standard order: no onions on a pizza, no green olives on a pizza and a hamburger cooked medium. To our surprise none of our requests were honored. The pizza with the green olives was the only plate we returned to the kitchen and we waited and waited for another pizza to arrive. We had already finished eating our entrees when the pizza was brought out only to find the bottom burnt to a crisp. Needless to say, it was inedible but we didn't complain much as the manager had already apologized and told us he had taken it off our dinner tab. Overall the food was not that spectacular and I think we could find an extensive beer menu somewhere else where the kitchen cares about getting the order correct.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Swank!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Arrived expecting another run-of-the-mill tap house with all of the customary scenery, but was quite surprised at the upscale decor and layout. This establishment appears to be attempting to cater to a younger, hipster crowd (our impression, at least), but they've done a great job at creating an appealing place for all types. Nice job incorporating a sports aspect in with a bit of nightlife swank. Extensive beer selection on tap, but we weren't overly impressed with the house brews we had. Food was pretty good for the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
“The Ale House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is fairly new to Columbia but has moved quickly to a popular place to hang out, have dinner. Excellent customer relations and attention paid to the customer. Food is hot and large portions. Very reasonable in their prices and of course a large variety of Beer - it is an ale house!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and i went here on last weekend. The service left a lot to be desired. We waited about 40 minutes for our food. It was not crowded. When the manager asked us how things were, i mentioned the food taking a long time, it did not appear to me that he cared.

My wife got a turkey burger that seemed a little over cooked. I got the Brewhouse Pretzel starter with a side of fries. It was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ale House Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.