We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Swank!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
6480 Dobbin Center Way, Columbia, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Swank!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Arrived expecting another run-of-the-mill tap house with all of the customary scenery, but was quite surprised at the upscale decor and layout. This establishment appears to be attempting to cater to a younger, hipster crowd (our impression, at least), but they've done a great job at creating an appealing place for all types. Nice job incorporating a sports aspect in with a bit of nightlife swank. Extensive beer selection on tap, but we weren't overly impressed with the house brews we had. Food was pretty good for the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
“The Ale House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is fairly new to Columbia but has moved quickly to a popular place to hang out, have dinner. Excellent customer relations and attention paid to the customer. Food is hot and large portions. Very reasonable in their prices and of course a large variety of Beer - it is an ale house!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and i went here on last weekend. The service left a lot to be desired. We waited about 40 minutes for our food. It was not crowded. When the manager asked us how things were, i mentioned the food taking a long time, it did not appear to me that he cared.

My wife got a turkey burger that seemed a little over cooked. I got the Brewhouse Pretzel starter with a side of fries. It was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Expensive burger! But LOVED the fries and brownie sundae. Staff is very courteous and friendly. I'd come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chosen by others, Recommended by us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had the opportunity to visit with friends and they choose the Ale House. We're really glad they did because we will definitely go back, given the chance.

Their beer selection was diverse and didn't disappoint. We started with the mussels, a nice way to start the meal. Ei enjoyed the tacos and had the vegetable risotto. For me, as soon as they offered the evening's special of NY Strip with blue cheese on top, I knew I had to get it. I was very happy with my choice as the steak was properly cooked and the garlic mashed potatoes were a wonderful side dish. We finished the meal with bread pudding, which was a great choice.

The Ale House is a restaurant that we will definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ale House Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.