We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, interesting drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
6480 Dobbin Center Way, Columbia, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 226 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I went out with another couple late on a Tuesday night. I started with the Pineapple-Chili Margarita as suggested by our waiter and it was delicious. If you like margaritas this is an unusual flavor twist. We both had the Ale House burger which was very good and it was a large portion that I ended up taking half home with me so I could save room for dessert. The Skillet Cookie is cooked to order and it was just the right finish to our meal. We will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    46
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I believe it is better than just an average ale house. The food is good, the beer is better and have a rotating set of beers frequently. They have both their Oliver ales and other craft breweries. They also sell growlers which allows you to take a beer to enjoy. Parking is bad, but it is worth the effort. They have free valet parking on the weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average ale house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This is just an average ale house. Took way too long for server to bring out a couple drinks. Food was ok, but took a long time to come out. My tacos were stone cold when they came out the first time.
Beer was significantly over-priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A really good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been here for lunch and really enjoyed the experience. The wait staff is very competent, they know the menu, and are very smooth. No bobbles at all, they take the extra step. The food is very good, quite a leap up from the usual bar food. And the beer selection is excellent.

The only problem is parking, as others have noted. There is nowhere to park one the lot (a good-sized lot) gets full. At lunch you will likely be fine but on weekends or at night it's a different story. It is worth trying for a space though, the experience inside the restaurant is worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great beer and outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times. Last Wednesday was the first time that we ate on their outdoor patio. It is very nice. They have a bar located right near the tables. As always the food has been good! They have a limited happy hour menu, but I think the spinach artichoke dip is one of the best deals. Don't forget they take reservations on Open Table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ale House Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.