We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but a little $$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
6480 Dobbin Center Way, Columbia, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 219 restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, but a little $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I loved the food it was delicious. You have to try the nachos. Good family restaurant. The servers were nice, the atmosphere was nice, lots of elbow room at the tables. However it was a little $$, but i dont mind paying more for good food. Overall: Very good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    19
    27
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Big Beer selection Great eats friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Finally a place in Columbia with character. It's hard to find a place in Columbia that doesn't have that "sterile" feeling. Beer selection is excellent, food menu offers something for every taste.
Our server was friendly, personable, unhurried but attentive to her tables. My wife went here on a GNO on a Wednesday night and couldn't wait to bring me out to buy me a beer on Friday after work. We couldn't get near the place! The parking lot was packed. She said they have valet parking but hey, I wasn't "going to a brew house with valet parking". When we did go back another time I really enjoyed it. Go for the beer enjoy the food and relax.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. It's still new, so I expect the service to improve over the next few months. Appetizers are awesome! And as expected, great beer selection. I recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Took a wrong turn, passed by the Ale House and decided to give it a try. Great decor, great bar and lounge. They have a wonderful selection of brews, and are happy to bring you a sample to help you decide. We had the shiracha honey glazed wings, very good. We also had the blue cheese burger, it was very good. Service was excellent even though the place was packed. The manager was on top of his game, came around to see how patrons were doing, a nice touch. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent for beer, great for food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the Columbia edition of the Pratt Street Ale House in Baltimore. As such, they have the Oliver series of microbrews (brewed up in Baltimore) and a bunch of guest drafts as well. All of the Olivers are very tasty and they have a wide diversity of beer styles, not all IPAs and other heavy/hoppy beers (but their IPA is delicious!). The guests are an impressive selection as well, change a lot, and often contain one or two cask beers, which is great.

The food is excellent, especially the pretzel appetizer and the wings, which have a very unique sauce and taste. I will say that the portions can be a bit small (the filet tips are delicious but you don't get many and the french dip sandwich is very tasty but you get a small amount of meat, not even enough to totally fill the roll).

The place itself has two massive bars, some tall tables near them, and a lot of normal tables and booths. I've come to just drink a beer and I've come with my wife and very young son and never had a bad time. I recommend the Ale House without hesitation and am extremely happy to see it in Columbia!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ale House Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.