We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for beer, great for food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
6480 Dobbin Center Way, Columbia, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 220 restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent for beer, great for food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the Columbia edition of the Pratt Street Ale House in Baltimore. As such, they have the Oliver series of microbrews (brewed up in Baltimore) and a bunch of guest drafts as well. All of the Olivers are very tasty and they have a wide diversity of beer styles, not all IPAs and other heavy/hoppy beers (but their IPA is delicious!). The guests are an impressive selection as well, change a lot, and often contain one or two cask beers, which is great.

The food is excellent, especially the pretzel appetizer and the wings, which have a very unique sauce and taste. I will say that the portions can be a bit small (the filet tips are delicious but you don't get many and the french dip sandwich is very tasty but you get a small amount of meat, not even enough to totally fill the roll).

The place itself has two massive bars, some tall tables near them, and a lot of normal tables and booths. I've come to just drink a beer and I've come with my wife and very young son and never had a bad time. I recommend the Ale House without hesitation and am extremely happy to see it in Columbia!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    19
    29
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Business get together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I checked out this place because one of our clients is part of the wait staff. JD told us our salon would have a good time and he made some menu suggestions. A week later we went and all sat at the comfy round booth of the bar where we could talk and see all the action. The pretzel appt. is the best!! Don't leave without tasting it. The crowd is a nice mix of age, race and gender. So happy Howard county has a No Smoke. Just wish smokers could not stand near entry way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I happened upon the Ale House after shopping. It had only been open for a few weeks. We were seated right away. The wait staff was very nice and attentive. The craft beers were excellent the menu was interesting. Lots of tvs to watch games. The decor was simple and clean. I would describe it as a sort of upscale sports bar/restaurant. We plan to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great new escape from the Columbia chain restaurants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I love the Ale House great food, service, and craft beer list! For only being opened a few weeks they have really got their game down. The servers and bartenders are all great and provide great service. Everything we have tried on the menu has been very good as well. The pretzel is SO good! It is a must have if you have are throwing back a few pints or just a great snack. I also love the crispy chicken salad and the fish tacos.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. The old Rocky Run is now The Ale House Columbia & totally redesigned inside & out. This place is a beer lover's delight. Numerous draft beers to satisfied any beer lover - the beer they brew & the beer from many other breweries. For the sports lover there are flat screen televisions almost everywhere that you look. As for seating there are comfortable booths, bar chairs & high top tables. The bartenders & barmaids address you by name & make you feel like a regular on your first visit. We have been there twice & thoroughly enjoyed the food - mussels, fish tacos & flat bread pizza. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ale House Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;