We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for watching sports!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ale House Columbia

Ale House Columbia
6480 Dobbin Center Way, Columbia, MD 21045
443-546-3640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Columbia
Attraction details
Columbia, MD USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for watching sports!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want to watch a game and join the crowd, this is the place! Beer is fantastic (though pricy)! The turkey burger is the best around. I love the caramelized onions they put on top. Their salads are very good as well. If you don't like noisy....don't come here. Happy Hour is fun and the open bar in the back is great on a nice spring day. We like this spot for a beer, some pub food and a great game (Go Ravens/Go Skins....a house divided!).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mostly good food - service needs work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It took a while before our server came over. We put in an order for wings and drinks. She came back after an appropriate amount of time with our drinks and took our food order. A LONG time passed - no server, no wings, no food. Finally the food came out. Wait - what happened to our appetizer? We asked them to bring the wings anyway and dug into our food. The Ale House burger was delicious as were the veggie slaw and the sauce for the blackened chicken pasta. The "blackened chicken" was an unseasoned, dry piece of chicken breast. Very disappointing. Turns out the "seasoned" fires were also unseasoned. The wings finally made an appearance after I caught the server texting in the bathroom - really??? The sauce for the wings was actually really tasty, the wings themselves didn't really do much for me. The cookie and ice cream dessert was warm and gooey and delicious!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Tried the new restaurant on a Sunday evening. Atmosphere is great, server was attentive and food was good. My boyfriend ate the blackened chicken pasta which he said was really good and I had the fried egg burger with green beans in place of fries. Both were good and they didn't charge extra for the substitution. Green beans were awesome and they gave a good size portion! Not quite a full 5 stars as their menu for food it a bit limited and we wanted to try one of their mussel dishes but all it came with was bread no pasta. That's more an appetizer to me then dinner. We will be going back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great beers.....food still needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place just opened in early December so you can expect some growing pains. We liked the look of the place..lots of seating choices and TV screens to watch games. The service was good and we enjoyed the selection of beers - loved the fact that they even had ciders available. The food was not so good - we had to send back the wings because they were charred and the second batch we got was not properly cooked through. We will give this place a try again and hope the food has improved by then as the menu selections look good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ale House Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.