We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7045 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Your Stay!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Modern and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the nicest Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in. The lobby and room decor was modern and tasteful. The lobby area was beautiful. The indoor pool was a saltwater pool which eliminated the usual, overpowering chlorine smell. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and provided a nice variety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    33
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
29
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you're looking for a clean, friendly, affordable hotel to stay in the Columbia area, look no further. I've stayed at some very nice hotels (Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott) with all the amenities in my travels but this one is by far the best for customer service I've experienced...EVER. Hotel is fairly new and is kept spotless. The staff is very friendly and more than accommodating. If there was a rating above Excellent, this Hampton Inn would get it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoryCartwright, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We take a lot of pride in our team and our efforts to be one of the best hotels around. I will share your comments with our team as we consistently like to learn from both the good and the bad. Your feedback will definitely be a positive reinforcement for their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The staff couldn't do a better job! Here are some extra characters to make the tripadvisor review happy. No one likes to write novels without being paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for business for three nights last week and it meets my needs as a business traveller to a tee. Well stocked pantry downstairs with a quick bite to eat and beer/wine for nights when I need to just sit in the room and work. Within a couple of miles of any retail/restaurant you'd ever want. Near the interstate, exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff. Free internet and parking. Allowed me to focus on the business at hand. I don't want hassles when I am staying in a motel for the week, and this one took all that stress out of the equation. I will stay there whenever I am in that town, and I am not even at the top of this chain's points program. I typically seek out Hyatt Place or one of the Marriott brands, but this specific Hampton Inn is at the top of my list now.

Room Tip: They upgraded me to a suite, for no reason (I am not a preferred customer there) and it was the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a brand new Hampton Inn. Very clean and shiny. The staff was great. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is because in typical Hampton Inn fashion, they ruin the breakfast every time. Why can't they just make scrambled eggs, and let the guest add their own accouterments. I hate when they mix stuff in with the eggs. If I'm able to add my own sugar and cream to my coffee, to bring it my liking, then I can probably handle doing the same with my eggs. STOP thinking for me Hampton Inn. Also, Western omelets, really??? Bagel toppers? The bagels are there. Let me top them. I don't want some pencil pusher deciding what I want on my bagel. I avoid Hampton Inn like the plague because of the breakfast. And where do they get that onion skin thin bacon from anyway? It looks like it should be in a science lab under a microscope. And the Turkey Sausage, yeah, I said it, Turkey Sausage. Enough said.
Wake up Hampton Inn. Fix the breakfast, and I'm there every time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUMA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Pleasant service, well maintained and appointed facility. Only about 15 minutes by taxi from BWI. My only complaint is the website which indicated such a taxi ride should cost about $20. A mid-morning weekend trip was much closer to $50 with no traffic, which led to an unpleasant start to the trip. Attentive staff with needs of a large wedding party. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Everything was great except the sheets were scratchy. Maybe they're cutting corners on detergent. Also, they had meat mixed into the eggs at breakfast. As a vegetarian, that didn't work for me, but I know that won't affect most people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoryCartwright, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry for the inconveniences your experienced during your stay. We strive to please everyone with our breakfast offerings, which change daily, but I do apologize that the menu for that day was not up to your satisfaction. We are working with the Hampton brand team with some new menu offerings coming soon. We are also working with our laundry machines to improve the feel of our sheets. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We value our guest's opinion and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South

Address: 7045 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/South hotel in Columbia, MD offering quality amenities, superior service and contemporary accommodations. Whether you're in the area for an extended stay or an overnight layover, feel at home at this Hampton hotel located only 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Columbia, MD has 124 guest rooms and offers free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and parking. Be near popular Columbia, MD attractions including the Columbia Horse Center, Columbia Ice Rink, Golfing at Hobbit's Glen and Fairway Hills, Savage Mill Shopping Center and Terrapin Adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.