We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7045 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x Points on Your Stay!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has to be one of the best Hampton Inn's I have EVER stayed out. The room design, feel and comfort was outstanding. For those that travel a lot you'll know what I mean when I say my first thought upon entering was " I wish I was staying in this room longer!"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    37
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
32
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed two nights in March 2013 for work at the JHU Applied Physics Laboratory. The room was very large, with a bathroom as large as my master bathroom at home, and a room almost as large as my large master bedroom. The room had a fridge and microwave so I could keep drinks cold. The TV had more channels than I could count, but happily enough had VH1Classic. The internet was fast and flawless. The fitness center was the best I've seen at a Hampton Inn with dumbells, a multi-purpose weight machine, and multiple cardio machines. In fact, the fitness center was better than many full-scale Hiltons. The only thing less than perfect was the breakfast, which was "only" a typical Hampton Inn breakfast. Of course, that means you still have plenty of choices of hot food, breads, and juices, but it did not have as much variety as a few other Hampton Inns I've seen, nor did I see hard-boiled eggs or other easily identifiable dairy-free items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a brand spanking new Hampton Inn. Just opened in November 2012, it boasts modern styling, spacious rooms, and a top-notch hotel staff.

The location is perfectly quiet. Although it's near Interstate 95, traffic noise is imperceptible. There's plenty of on-site parking and twice as many accessible spaces as an average hotel.

Lots of room in the lobby/lounge space where breakfast is served. It even has a huge big screen TV, perfect for catching ESPN Top 10! There's even a meeting where private parties can be held.

Our accessible room was exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom had a large roll in shower with a comfortable fold down seat attached to the wall. Loved the synthetic tiling on the floor. Not slippery at all!

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you're in a wheelchair, request and accessible room on the second floor. Plenty of space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is by far the nicest Hampton I have been in . They have done a great job with this property.
The decor is like you are in a boutique hotel in new york. The location is great if you need to get anywhere in Columbia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this recently opened Hampton Inn over Christmas week, 2012. This hotel excels in every category. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good, and the hotel provides a very upscale feeling for a three star hotel. My only quibble about the room is that the fan unit for the room heating and cooling system is not far from the foot of the bed, and we had to put up a chair to block the fan from causing an uncomfortable draft. The same room layout and draft problem happened in a recently built Hampton Inn at the Indianapolis airport location. We look forward to our next stay at this Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We just enjoyed a Thanksgiving weekend stay @ Hampton Inn , Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD for an annual Silver Sticks Youth Ice Hockey tournament. The property is BRAND NEW & exceptional in every way !!! The decor is beautiful, the rooms immaculate, the pool is large enough to accommodate lots of frolicking kids & the workout room is outstanding!!

The best part of our stay however was the Hampton Inn STAFF!!

Curtis & Nick welcomed our 50++ teenage boys/girls & families with enthusiasm & warmth!! Our Travel Hockey teams have often been treated with trepidation & recriminations right at check-in (which is understandable in light of the behavior of some youth sports teams). This staff treated our players like the NHL'ers they all wish they were!!! Cory, manager, set the tone for his entire team as they attended to every request/need. The staff over-seeing breakfast was on alert for restocking each item, assuring the cleanliness of the entire area, & accommodating all their guests!!

I truly cannot offer enough words of commendation for our stay here!! Our Greensboro Stars Travel Hockey team hopes to make this Hampton Inn our permanent host hotel for future tournaments in the DC/MD area!!!!

Room Tip: The sunset on the back of the building was glorious !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South

Address: 7045 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/South hotel in Columbia, MD offering quality amenities, superior service and contemporary accommodations. Whether you're in the area for an extended stay or an overnight layover, feel at home at this Hampton hotel located only 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Columbia, MD has 124 guest rooms and offers free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and parking. Be near popular Columbia, MD attractions including the Columbia Horse Center, Columbia Ice Rink, Golfing at Hobbit's Glen and Fairway Hills, Savage Mill Shopping Center and Terrapin Adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.