We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why can't all supermarkets be like this?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wegmans Market Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wegmans Market Cafe
8855 McGaw Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 203 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Burlington, NC
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Why can't all supermarkets be like this?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We love Wegmans - and make sure that we stop by on vacations in the Maryland area. Specifically talking about food - I break it down into 4 categories: 1) choice; 2) quality of food; 3) price of food; 4) dining experience.

1) The choice of food is terrific. So much variety - so easy to "shop" around and pick out what you want. Rows and rows of hot / steam tables - offering all kinds of ethnic and local cuisine --- main courses, sides, breads, desserts...

2) Our experience with the food is that it is always hot, rotated well, and tasty. I often get crab cakes (and a few sides) and they rank with any of the great Baltimore-area seafood houses. Delicious.

3) The price of the food can be high - but no higher than any good-to-nice area eatery... so that is not a problem. Plus - you only pay for the weight of what you buy - so really, just keep your portions manageable.

4) The atmosphere is uniquely cool. Ride the escalator to the top of the store and pick out a dining area (from among several great choices). I like the section of tables that hang out over the store - giving a deck-like view of the shopping below. I also like the ample # of tables and eating areas - and score the dining experience high because if it.

I guess my only question is simply: Why can't all supermarkets be like Wegmans?

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
America
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

New supermarket in the Columbia area (to me) and, IMO puts the other chains in the area to shame w/ outstanding selections of produce and cheeses. They have a very nice serve yourself buffet (pay by weight) with many different cuisines represented. Can be togo or they have unimaginative seating nearby.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed with general experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Since this store opened, I've visited and though some things bothered me, lately I've become more disheartened about shopping here. First off, why was the vegetarian bar taken out? I'm strictly vegetarian and can eat only vegetables, fruits, due to having to closely watch calories. There's nothing for me there now. In December I developed a severe stomach virus after consuming milk bought there, this led to a course of antibiotics for a month. Today, Lara, a cashier at, I believe was #16 or 18.... The Arab gal with a lazy right eye, told me I needed to "remember the number" for a bulk item I'd bought. Really? I'd told her what the item was based on what is on the container... I'm suppose to remember the number? I drive a distance to deal with rudeness from the arrogant shoppers, this just takes the cake. Goodbye.

  • Visited May 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We are always here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

This is the granddaddy of all grocery stores. Although I have to say that the quality seems to be dropping since their grand opening, this place is still incomparable in the area.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fun lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

This is a fun place for lunch. There are several different food bars where you can get a wide selection of different dishes--Asian, Indian, home style comfort food, chicken wings, salads, vegetarian entrees. If you go with a crowd, everyone can get what they want, or mix and match. We like taking our selections upstairs where we can look over the balcony at the shoppers below.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wegmans Market Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wegmans Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wegmans Market Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.