We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lil pricey, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maiwand Kabob

Maiwand Kabob
6131 Columbia Crossing, Columbia, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Description: In addition to the original Maiwand Kabob at Harper's Choice, this site combines a fine dining room experience with the takeout options & extra menu choices and specials.
Restaurant details
Description: In addition to the original Maiwand Kabob at Harper's Choice, this site combines a fine dining room experience with the takeout options & extra menu choices and specials.
Burtonsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, lil pricey, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have eaten here severla times and the kabob is always good. The prices are a tad high ($10/ea) but it comes with rice and salad and naan (flatbread). The chutney is excellent (order an addt'l one) the rice is always a bit dry, but tasty. salad is nothing exciting. The service is ok, they get your order wrong sometimes, but they mean well. Expect your kabob to take 30 mins, its a slow process, but you know its just cooked. So, all-in-all, its worth a visit to decide for yourself, I like it, but rice needs to be moisterer....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Interesting food, designed for takeout.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Maiwand Kabob is ;ocated in a strip mall of sorts near a Target, BAM, and Joann's. There is a cash register up front where you can pick up To Go orders, or you can sit at one of the many small tables. There are a few tables in semi-private nooks that look like they can have the curtains drawn, which would possibly be romantic if you did not have to share the nook with another table at the same time. The tables all have numbers on stands, I suppose to make it easy on the wait staff, but off-putting for a sit-down restaurant. We enjoyed the Veggie Samosas, and my wife liked her Mantu (Beef Dumplings) and Spinach. I found the Chicken Tikka Kabob tasty, if messy to eat. This is a place to grab something to eat while you are out shopping, but not a destination for interesting food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Inconsistent and if youre not careful....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Inconsistent and if youre not careful you may be served raw chicken. They grill their kabobs and don't cook them long enough because this is the 2nd time they have done this to us! First time we gave them the benefit of the doubt but now its just plain dangerous! I no longer am going to dine here. And to top it all off they have raised their prices which is really expensive now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasty kebobs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This location is a little pricier than I am used to (over $10 a plate) but very tidy and tasty. Worth the price of admission.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“KABOB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For those of you who are new to Afghani fair, as we were, you can expect food similar to that which you'd find in an Indian restaurant. The platters had main dishes paired well with the sides. We'd consider taking away one 'star' away because they were out of lamb, however, the waitstaff did their best to please giving us a free appetizer as an 'apology.'

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiwand Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Maiwand Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maiwand Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.