We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty kebobs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maiwand Kabob

Maiwand Kabob
6131 Columbia Crossing, Columbia, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 220 restaurants in Columbia
Description: In addition to the original Maiwand Kabob at Harper's Choice, this site combines a fine dining room experience with the takeout options & extra menu choices and specials.
Restaurant details
Description: In addition to the original Maiwand Kabob at Harper's Choice, this site combines a fine dining room experience with the takeout options & extra menu choices and specials.
Minneapolis,MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty kebobs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This location is a little pricier than I am used to (over $10 a plate) but very tidy and tasty. Worth the price of admission.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    13
    4
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“KABOB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For those of you who are new to Afghani fair, as we were, you can expect food similar to that which you'd find in an Indian restaurant. The platters had main dishes paired well with the sides. We'd consider taking away one 'star' away because they were out of lamb, however, the waitstaff did their best to please giving us a free appetizer as an 'apology.'

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stopped by the Columbia location on our way to BWI because we had tried the Hampton Inn Maiwand Kabob and enjoyed it. The food was even better than I had remembered! Aromatic rice is to die for and everything we ordered (chicken, lamb, beef kabobs) was delicious! Best naan I've tasted, and the decor of this location is understated elegance & very comfortable. Friendly staff and good value!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I travel a lot and love Afghan and other central Asian food. Was very happy to stumble on this place for lunch. The food is fresh, tasty, and grilled to perfection. I had the Kofta kabob which came with rice, a salad, naan, and yogurt cilantro sauce. I also had the samosas. Delicious and healthy. The interior of the restaurant is quite nice; for lunch they do a fast-casual service and dinner is a regular waiter-service. So the interior is pretty fancy for lunch and a nice surprise and treat. The guy at the counter was very nice and made some good recommendations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A "Sit Down" Dinner at Maiwand Kabob”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I love the Maiwand Kabob over by Arundel Mills Mall because of the great food and low prices. The atmosphere there is nothing to get excited about, however, as you have to wait in line to place your order, then either find a table in their somewhat crowded store or take your food home to eat. However, the newly-opened Maiwand Kabob at Columbia Crossing has a nice atmosphere, table service, friendly staff, and the same great food and low prices as the carry-out locations. They also have a couple of dishes that are only available at this location. No alcohol is available, but they have some very tasty mango and strawberry shakes that I would highly recommend. I'm assuming they are yogurt shakes, but they don't clarify whether these are ice cream or yogurt shakes. Anyway -- They're good!! My favorites on the menu -- any of the amazing appetizers, the chicken kabob, and the chicken and pea curry. My husband is partial to the lamb dishes. And, as usual, their naan is fresg, hot, and out-of-this-world good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiwand Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Maiwand Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maiwand Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.