We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, comfortable and tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Mediterranean Grill

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill
7185 Gateway Dr Suite D, Columbia, MD
410-290-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 204 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 175
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed, comfortable and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This restaurant is hidden in a strip mall atmosphere but once you walk in there is a comfortable atmosphere as the wait staff is friendly and helpful, the food is interesting and tasty and one receives great value for the cost. That lentil soup was great and the lamb equally so.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Rudy's mediterranean grill is the top of delicious. I had dinner and breakfast with my wife and daughter. Grills are delicious. Breakfast is also. Rudy is a very hospitable person. Atmosphere is good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wonderful Turkish food & drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We've been here three times, twice with the kids and tonight on our own and each time the food has been outstanding. The house Turkish wine is a nice dry red -- akin to an Italian table red. The entrees all come with salad and soup and the soups are delicious. Entrees include lamb, beef, chicken, fish, and vegetarian options and there are Turkish-style pizzas if you have a picky kid with you. There are some wonderful traditional Turkish appetizers available as well. When you sit down, the waiter brings water right away, and a bread basket with flatbread and a plate of herbed olive oil. This is a nice touch as some restaurants leave us sitting for a long time with nothing to drink.

My husband and I chose two different entrees and split them; the waiter offered to bring us extra plates, but we were able to use our bread plates.

Columbia restaurants tend to lack authenticity (when unique) and ambiance, but Rudy's does a good job with both. I'd have preferred to listen to Turkish music rather than the oldies they were playing, but I haven't found any Columbia "ethnic" restaurants that play music from the country of origin.

They're in the process of remodeling, knocking down walls to make the room more spacious. While I liked the intimate feeling of the previous design, this new layout will enable them to host larger parties.

I recommend Rudy's to anyone going on a date night, or taking the family out for a nice (nicer than usual with kids) meal.
They're website is: http://www.rmgrill.com/
They offer carry-out and Sunday brunch as well. The lunch menu offers a mix of Turkish entrees and American subs and sandwiches (burgers, wraps, deli sandwiches, etc.). The breakfast menu seems to be the same as a diner might offer -- eggs, pancakes, etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent food and service that gets better each time I go. Had delicious shrimp salad and wife had delicious Greek salad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Turkish food, great service, lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A group of 10 of us celebrated Father's Day at Rudy's. While the restaurant is in a strip mall, the interior is very appealing - pendant lighting, warm colors and tablecloths. We were greeted warmly and the service all evening was attentive and gracious. We had two great bottles of wine ($30 each) and enjoyed all the food. We started with the complimentary bread and dipping oil, moved to the appetizer combo platter (hummus, eggplant, falafel, etc) and has an assortment of delicious dishes (kebab mix, kafte, moussaka, lamb chops, pizza). We really enjoyed the yummy food and friendliness of a neighborhood place. It was also nice to be in such a pretty restaurant where families were so welcome. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.