We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Turkey in Columbia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Mediterranean Grill

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill
7185 Gateway Dr Suite D, Columbia, MD
410-290-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 220 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 175
Columbia, Maryland, US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little bit of Turkey in Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Rudi runs a great little restaurant, very casual, genuine Turkish dishes, fabulous baklava, and if you go on the weekend you have to try the Branzino fish! We've only been going for about a year and love this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    22
    14
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not only authentic Turkish dishes, but the best classic Amiercan diner breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

In my youth I lived a couple of years in Turkey and loved the food. Until I visited Rudy's I could never duplicate the experience. From appetizers to desserts and beers to wines Rudy's is authentic and delicious. The chef is from Istanbul and the wait staff are held to a high standard of training in proper customer service. Rudy and the chef both worked at a Double T diner, so their rendition of traditional American diner breakfasts is outstanding. Sunday brunch is a weekly tradition for my wife and me. Once a month Rudy has a Turkish night with Turkish music and belly dancing adding to the atmosphere. Don't miss it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The $16.95 lamb dish tasted like ground lamb, for $2.00 extra we received yogurt on top of bread (geez!). The $21.95 Shish Kabob was a super small portion with white rice and a small salad - it had zero flavor. We had to ask for drink refills and more bread, one drink was just water. I honestly get more food and flavor at Maiwand Kabob for less money. I understand that this place is Turkish, maybe Turkish food in general is on the bland side. Our server was very nice but the food did not deliver the mouth fireworks that I was hoping for from a mediterranean restaurant ... I really wanted to like this place but I didn't.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is the "real deal"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently had dinner for the first time at Rudy's and must say it was excellant. We had visited Istanbul in Turkey the previous year and eaten some great meals there. But I have to say this restaurant comes as close as possible to being the "real deal" for authentic turkish and mediterranian food this side of the Atlantic. The service and presentation were all very good and the red house wine from Turkey was also very good. Yes, it is located in a "sterile" corporate business park, but once your'e inside and you bite into the food and drink the wine you forget all that. Will definitely make a return visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really enjoyed dinner at Rudy's. The food was very very fresh and everything is homemade. My son who had just come back from Israel said it's the best hummus he's had in the U.S., the lentil soup was delicious, great Turkish beer, I also had the spinach pie which was wonderful! Can't wait to go back and try some more dishes. Rudy hangs out in the restaurant and is happy to give his recommendations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.