We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Mediterranean Grill

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill
7185 Gateway Dr Suite D, Columbia, MD
410-290-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 220 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 175
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill has both excellent food and service. The portions are large and filling.
The lamb chops and the fish (bolonzini?) were specially good. The rice is surprising moist. The bread is so good, you could dine on that alone. The lentil soup is also excellent. The staff is eager to answer all you questions and explain all the dishes to you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    22
    14
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best lamb chops! Great food overall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant because of a groupon, but we couldn't be happier with our service and food. The restaurant is in a small out of the way shopping center that we never would have found otherwise. We went on a fairly quiet night; so the service was great and the waitress took the time to explain best dishes to us. We got all of our food in a timely manner.

We ordered the Turkish appetizer made with eggplant (which I can't remember the name) , the red lentil soup, the falafel appetizer, lamb chops and the moussaka. I was impressed by the flavors of all of the dishes; everything overall was tasty. The falafels were a little dry, but tasted better with the yogurt sauce. We opted for the lamb chops, which were seasoned and grilled to perfection. For that alone, we will definitely be coming back. The lamb chops, by far were the best lamb chops I've ever had. Yes, it was a little more expensive for the lamb chops, but I felt it was well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to Rudy's tonight. They seem to be mostly focused on Turkish foods, but with some other selections. Our order was two Turkish beers, one light beer for my wife and a dark beer for me. Both were good, and suited out respective tastes.

For our meal we each ordered a kabob platter. She had a chicken Shish kabob platter and I had a mixed kebob platter. Both came with a fresh salad with a vinaigrette dressing plus basmatic rice. The meats were marinated and had good flavor. Each platter has eight cubes, a bit more than 1 inch per side -- quite ample serving, and in fact we took some home for next day. My dish had four chicken, two beef and two lamb kabobs. The chicken was more tender than the other meats but all tasted quite good.

They served a fresh bread with a very nice crispy crust and a shallow plate with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The bread was good on its own, and the tang of the vinegar and oil mixture was also tasty.

The service was quite good. The main person greeted us at the door quickly, explained choices and checked back to see how thing were -- but was not obtrusive.

The menu has a number of interesting lunch items, subs and sandwiches, as well as a pretty good looking breakfast menu.

Total bill before tax and tip was $42.40.

This is a place we will probably go back to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Value declining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family has been going to Rudy's since it opened. We have seen the turnover in chefs, the mass Groupon campaigns and a few other things. If you like Turkish food this is the place for you. But the value has gone down considerably.

At first they just raised the prices of just the lamb chops since they got a good review in the Baltimore Sun. Then all the other prices were raised. Now the portion sizes are shrinking. The combination kabob now only comes with 6 pieces of meat. The menu makes it seem like it comes with 6 kabobs. As soon as they got the liquor license the wine prices were reasonable. Now the price per glass is on par with Aida. The front window still has a sign that advertises "Breakfast all Day" which meant we could always find something on the menu for our kids. Now the sign is still there, but unlit at night and the menu says something under the breakfast section similar to "Available until dinner". All of these changes have happened within a relatively short time.

The food is still good, the deserts are great. Rudy himself is an interesting character but we don't feel we get the value for our money anymore. We will probably give them one or two more chances hoping that he may have only raised the prices and cut portions to make up for the Groupon specials, but they may have lost us as customers. Service can be good, can be slow. They seem to have a large turnover in waiters/waitresses. They have several new ones there right now. Hopefully things improve soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Rudy's is the kind of place where I can try the exotic ( to me) Turkish selections while the kids are content with the familiar burger and fries. Its varied menu has something to please every palate at reasonable prices. The red lentil soup had light, flavorful seasonings to warm a cold day. The doner sandwich was accompanied by salad and fries, more than enough for me, and all for $8.95.
We will be back to try other selections.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rudy's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.