We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay For Families With Young Children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Good Stay For Families With Young Children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I'm a Hilton member and I've stayed at many Homewood Suites. Homewood Suites Columbia was a great place to stay at with my children. My family had a good stay except for one night (explained in detail below).

Pros:
Clean
Spacious Rooms- ample space for those with children
Complimentary-parking, breakfast, dinner Mon-Thur
Close to Restaurants- Bob Evans, Mc Donald's, Olive Garden, TGI Fridays & further on Lark Brown Road (5 minutes away) there is a Trader Joes, Mimi's Cafe, On the Border Mexican Grill, Royal Farms, Houlihans all in the shopping complex
Fod Lion Grocery & CVS Pharmacy are also only 5 minutes away on Waterloo Road
Waterloo Community Park is nearby for parents with young children. It is next to the elementary school on Old Waterloo Road which also has a playground for children. (This is about 8 minutes from the hotel)
Clean Pool Area-pool had plenty of pool towels available
Easy access to Highway 95
Easy access to BWI airport

Cons:
The main negative was that during our stay one night someone decided that it will be funny to pull the fire alarm at little after 2 in the morning and vandalize a few things inside of the hotel. This is of no fault with the hotel. However, they need to install cameras and have overnight sercurity to prevent such matters. I never knew rather the pranksters were staying at the hotel or not. This did create a big disruption for all the people who had their sleep disrupted just for a prank. Thankfully, there was no fire!

Breakfast-After a few days of staying there we were getting tired of the lack of variety available at breakfast. It appeared to be the same items everyday. However, it's free and there is a Mc Donald's and Bob Evans near the hotel just in case you get tired of the breakfast.

Airplane Noise- If you're a light sleeper, then know that you might hear airplanes flying towards BWI. However, I didn't hear any after 10pm and the airplane sounds were not too loud. I'm a light sleeper and I slept well most nights.

Also, this is a great location if you're doing things in the Batimore, Anne Arundel County, or Howard County areas of Maryland. I will recommend that you stay at a hotel closer towards the city if you're planning to visit Washington DC only. Rush hour traffic can be bear going towards DC in the morning. So, you may want to checkout a Hilton chain that is a bit closer to DC.

TIP: Printout a Google Map of the area before you leave home. That way you will get directions on how to get to the above mentioned restaurants and grocery stores. Another tip is that if you take 175 West & then go North on Snow River Pkwy (15 minutes away from hotel) There is a huge shopping complex with a Target, Borders, and tons of other places to shop or to eat.

I will probably stay here again if I'm in the general area (Maryland) only.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    104
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
157
58
23
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
scarletfires
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in July during some shows at Merriweather Post. Neither us nor our friends had ever stayed at a Homewood Suites before- and we were all blown away!

The hotel is extremely clean and well decorated. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. The beds were incredibly comfortable!

The breakfast was expansive, with lots of hot dishes to choose from- not your standard run of the mil hotel "hot breakfast"

The staff helped us with all of our requests and even brought us a cooler of water while we were lounging by the pool. This hotel truly lives up to the Hilton name.

Really added a lot of value to our trip. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Was at Homewood Suites for family reunion. Enjoyed my stay. Staff was wonderful and met our every need. Stayed in a 1 room suite w/ kitchen. Nice, clean and comfortable. You will require a vehicle if you want to go to the mall. Restaurants in walking distance of the hotel (McDonalds, Applebees, TGI Fridays, Olive Garden). That was convenient due to the hotel not having a full service restaurant. Full breakfast buffet to include (pancakes, sausage, bagels, cereal, etc...) . During our stay I did notice two large dogs (hotel is pet friendly) but extremely clean. Full service business center included 3 computers, printer and fax machine complimentary. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, AL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We were 2 couples with 2 teenagers so the room was perfect. We stayed in the 2 BR suite and loved the spacious rooms and separate full baths, full kitchen and how clean everything was - the whitest hotel tub I've ever seen! Staff was wonderful and very courteous. FULL breakfast everyday was great but the "Homecoming Reception" (M-T) which was dinner was a huge savings. They call it light dinner but one example - 2 types of lasagna, salad bar, green beans, 3 choices of drinks, bread & brownies. Having full kitchen and 2 meals a day provided after long day sightseeing in DC was perfect! Location is great - 15 miles to first DC metro station and surrounded by malls and stores. Business center, excersize room & coin laundry plus snack shop at front desk and will deliver basic grocery items to your room. Kids loved the pool and basketball court and we loved everything about the stay - can't say enough. First time at Homewood Suites and will go out of our way to stay with them again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The rooms were very clean. It had a refridgerator, microwave, cooking untensils, plates cups ect.. extras like dish detergent, microwaveable popcorn and coffee.
The bathroom also had extras like tooth paste, eye makeup remover, lotion, very convienent if you happen to forget something
The free breakfast was very good. It had eggs, sausage, french toast sticks, all sorts of breads and pastries and cereal. It was very fresh and clean in the dining area.
The pool was outside and small and too cold for us. There was a hot tub next to the pool but that was also cold..
There was also a lighted basketball court which was open until 10pm, same time as the pool.
What was really nice was there was 5 restaurants all within walking distance to this hotel. Nice restaurants like Olive Garden, TGI Fridays, Applebees. Also a Mcdonalds and CVS near by.
WiFi was free and also parking was free

I travel quite a bit and have to say this is a great value

I paid 109.00 per night when I booked thru hotels.com

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this Homewood Suites. The staff was very helpful when we arrived. We were also allowed to check in early. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our king suite with the separate bedroom. The breakfast was very nice with many hot and cold items which were promptly replenished. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting the Columbia area.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Travelled to Balltimore/DC area for family reunion, 3 generations. Stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit with living area and small kitchen with microwave, stovetop, refrigerator. Room was very clean, quiet, and hot & cold breakfast included had a very good selection to satisfy our group. Restaurants (Olive Garden, Applebee's, Bob Evans, Friday's, MacD's) right across the street, easy walking distance. Desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.