We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay at a reasonable rate.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent place to stay at a reasonable rate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at the Homewood Suites while attending the M3 Rock Festival on May 30th. This hotel is very well furnished and comes with a Full breakfast including Eggs, sausage, bacon, omelets, bagels, etc.. We had a king bed in our suite and a full kitchen including a full fridge with ice maker inside. Plenty of places to eat right across the road from the hotel. The suite was perfect for us as my wife could do her makeup routine in the bedroom as I watched TV in the livingroom..it was SUITE. I would definitely stay here again if I am near the Columbia, MD area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    82
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
122
39
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

This hotel was a great choice. The room was very clean and fresh smelling and I really enjoyed how quiet the building was. The housekeeping staff were friendly and fast and everything was in working order. Great "out of the way" place to get some R&R. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Stayed at the Homewood Suites from Jan 17 - 21 for the Inauguration. The location is really good, an easy (at off hours at least) 20 min drive to/from BWI.

The hotel is on a cul-de-sac with a TGIFriday's, an Applebee's and a McDonald's directly across the street. There's a Food Lion supermarket and a liquor store in a small strip plaza less than half a mile away.

There are an uncountable number of huge strip malls within a 5 - 10 minute drive, and a even larger indoor mall about 15 mins away. Between all of those, I would say every retailer known to man is represented.

My flight landed very early; after driving around checking out the general area, I was able to check in at 11:00am. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and efficient.

The early check in did cause a little confusion with housekeeping and security which was easily taken care of.

The room looked fine when I entered, but the woman from housekeeping insisted on checking it and then declared it hadn't been cleaned properly. She came in and whipped it into shape in about 10 mins. Normally, I wouldn't really like that type of intrusion, but she was so earnest, I took it as a measure of her commitment to her job.

Once housekeeping and security was satisfied the room was in order, the Do Not Disturb sign was honored for the rest of the stay.

The room itself has a tiny but functional kitchenette with a 2 burner (induction style) stove top, a good sized microwave, a full size refrigerator (spotless) with ice maker, a dishwasher (with 1 packet of dish soap), a garbage disposal unit in the sink, and adequate cooking utensils, silverware and glassware. The coffeemaker is the standard Hilton "4 cupper" (1 human cup).

There is a small table with two chairs separating the kitchenette from the living room.

The living room had a sofa with two end tables, a regular upholstered chair, a small coffee table, a 3-drawer dresser with a TV on top, and a small work table.

They have free wireless or wired internet; the wired is noticeably faster, but you'll need to bring your own cable (there was a 6 inch CAT 5 internet cable in the desk drawer, but that's not long enough). There's a work chair at the desk, but it could not be adjusted high enough to use at the desk - one of the chairs from the "kitchen" worked fine.

The living room is separated from the living room by a door you can close. The king bedroom had night tables with lamps and drawers on either side, along with a 3-drawer dresser and another TV. And an AM-FM clock radio.

The bedroom also has a mirrored closet with ironing board and iron, extra pillows, plenty of hangers, and has the lavatory sink with a large mirror, the standard little bottle of shampoo, etc and a reasonable (for a man) amount of counter space). The toilet and bathtub/shower are directly off the bedroom, and has a fan. There was ample hot water.

Each room has its own window, the windows can be opened a couple of inches for fresh air. The room has a single temperature control which worked fine. Translucent white curtains and blackout drapes in both rooms, which worked fine.

I was almost as far away from the elevator as you can get (by choice), in the back corner of the property, and it was very quiet aside from the occasional door slam.

I found the room a little smaller than I expected, but that's based on my expectation. I would estimate the entire unit at about 525 sqft, which is a pretty good size except when you divide it into 4 sections.

There's a laundry room open 24/7, a fitness room open 24/7, and a business center with 1 PC, 1 fax, and 1 printer open 24/7.

They have a free breakfast (and dinner) buffet every day with a nice seating area off the lobby, and a little "convenience" kiosk (ie. snacks, toothpaste, etc.)

Since I'm not a business traveler, I would recommend the Homewood (or other hotels in Columbia) it to people visiting DC who don't want to pay DC hotel prices. There is a commuter rail line called the MARC train that runs from Baltimore to Union Station in DC Monday through Frdayi for about $5 each way. You can catch the MARC train Camden Line from the Savage or Laurel (each about a 10 -15 minute drive, free parking) stations.

I'll probably never be in Columbia MD again, but the Homewood Suites and its staff left me with a good impression overall.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed at Homewood Suites in Columbia, MD while we attended a family birthday party in the area. The hotel is conveniently located to the airport and the Columbia Mall. The hotel itself looked very new and clean. The rates are an excellent value for what is received. We were upgraded from a 1 bedroom suite to a 2 bedroom suite for 2 adults and a grown son. The light was out in the 2nd bedroom's bathroom and was quickly replaced after a gentle reminder. Based on this reminder, the hotel apologized profusely and offered a free game rental for our troubles. The bedding was nice but the pillows were more firm than we are used to sleeping on. Each of the bedrooms had a nice bathroom area & full closet. The tub/shower was very clean with plenty of hot water. The kitchen had a full size fridge, microwave, and fully stocked kitchen (pots, pans, cutlery). The living area between the two bedrooms had a tv, couch, chair, desk & chair....all in good shape, no stains, or odors. The free buffet breakfast was good and plentiful, and included real eggs and real sausages, and fresh fruit. All in all it was a very clean and pleasant hotel in a convenient area, and we would certainly return again.

  • Liked — Excellent value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We were vacationing and visiting friends in the area.
Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath, kitchenette suite, with pullout worked very well for us. All clean, extra towels, friendly staff - especially in the breakfast area.

It was easy to find, and the nearby Olive Garden was had good food and convenient. A 20 minute highway ride got us to downtown Baltimore, and sights.

The hotel seemed very new, beds were very comfortable.
Place was quiet, too.

  • Liked — High quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel twice.

The first time I got a free upgrade from a 1 to a 2 bedroom suite, which was a nice touch.

The second time I had a more disappointing experience: I was woken up from a deep sleep by the receptionist, accused of making too much noise, and disturbing a “manager” supposedly sleeping in the suite below me. She must have called the wrong suite. There was no apology that night or the next morning. This is unacceptable. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at where the comfort of the manager is considered more important than the guests. I later got a refund, but never got a satisfactory apology.

The hotel is in a good location for the Baltimore-Washington corridor, close to restaurant chains, a Costco (with gas station) and Trader Joes.

Both times the bathrooms smelled of mildew, there were no towels in the exercise room, and the breakfast bar was disappointing by Homewood Suites standards.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland,Mi.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Very nice hotel in a nice area close to both Baltimore and DC. Stayed 6 nights. Very nice room with everything we needed. Breakfast was very good every morning. Did not get a chance to try the dinners but most sounded good except for the cabbage rolls - not sure why they would choose this as a majority favorite. Pool area was fine except that the hot tub was not hot at all. We asked desk clerk if they could adjust the temp. and he said he would check with the pool person. The next night it was colder than the day before so we just never went down again. Would have been nice to have a nice hot tub after walking around DC all day. Other than the hot tub everything else was great.

  • Liked — Breakfast, room, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Barely warm hot tub
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.