We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Highland,MD, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed or a few days between moving and settlement, things went very well...great room and great breakfast.The Hotel is very convenient to the Airport and Columbia, Md. Lots of good restaurants and bars right near by...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    97
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
141
54
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for nine days and selected it based on price and location. Overall appearance of the place is average. You could tell the building was heavily used and showed some wear and tear in certain places.

The staff was all friendly and tried their best to make our stay pleasant. There were some issues with our room and with our reservations half-way during the stay. At first, it caused confusion for the staff and they were hesitant to do anything to fix it until a manager came in (several hours later) but after that things were fixed quickly. There were also minor communication problems with some of the staff that didn’t speak English but we eventually worked through it.

The first room we stayed in had a strong smoke smell in it and we requested to be moved but another room was not available until the next day. The second room was clean and had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.

Both breakfast and dinner were offered by the hotel. The quality of the food was average on most days and below average for some items. It was all free however and after the first day, you quickly learned what was edible and not.

Overall, our stay was good. The room was comfortable and though we had a few issues, the staff worked to fix them in a reasonable amount of time. The food was a letdown but you can’t beat the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The place was clean and the staff was friendly, but the internet was out for four days with no word on when it was going to be fixed. As I was in need of internet during my stay, it caused me to go over on my cell phone data, so I wish there could have been a little more help in this area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

It is a lovely hotel. I don't know if the fact that pets are allowed caused some many carpet stains in our room. The breakfast part, I would have rather had a V8 juice drink.The WiFi wasn't working all weekend for such a higher end brand of hotels.Staff was friendly and helpful.The bed is to die for, very comfortable. The best part of our stay was the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and the staff is great. You get a free breakfast and they do have a variety of food to eat. The bed was kind of hard but tolerable. This is the 2nd Homewood Suites we stayed in and I would stay in one again. It is worth the money. Go through Hotels.com to get a better rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

beds are comfortable. breakfast is very good and staff at breakfast area are constantly cleaning/replenishing food. elevators are fast. i just have to mention that the person who cleaned the room forgot to bring with her the used plate that's on counter top. other than that, i like homewood suites coz they have full kitchen amenities ensuite.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

It was my first experience in Homewood Suites By Hilton and to be honest, I'm bias for my other experiences in different chains.

What follows is a review for management.
Hotel facilities are good, rooms and all amenities inside rooms are pretty good.
What make me feel different was some kind of indifference from employees, is something hard to explain because they, I believe, are doing what they are train to do, customer attention and service...just the necessary to be Ok.
So, that said, what I think they need is a little beat more of excitement when they welcome, attend, serve, greet etc, etc the customers.
Is a little beat more of.....human emotions deployment when taking care of customers!!!!!
Overall, is a good place to rest and stay after a long day of work!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.