We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really well-laid out room with comfortable beds and perfect maintainance. The breakfast bar was absolutely jammed at 9:30 PM but they did their best to keep up. Just a nice place with plenty of dining options nearby and only 15 minutes to Baltimore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    69
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
101
36
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nestled just off the highway, and across from a shopping area, this Homewood Suites offered a pleasant stay for us. Walking distance restaurants TGIFridays, Bob Evans, Olive Garden and McDonalds. Recommend Dick's Seafood for carryout if you love crabs, but it's 15 min drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent value for the dollar. Warm and welcoming. Clean, well appointed suites. Location near I-95 offers easy access for travelers. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping centers. Business center is very convenient for internet interaction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I (6 total) were stranded because our house had a busted pipe. Homewood was a perfect fit for us. We got two suites and they were like min-apts for us. The best thing of all, they offer breakfast and dinner! How awesome is that! Staff was excellent and the hotel was in excellent condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I came to this hotel last year and it was great! This year not so much, dinner was a horrible experience the food is bland and the service is horrible! The last time we stayed it was a lady working in the kitchen by herself and dinner was excellent! She was a asset to this company. I asked about her and was told she no longer works here! I will not be staying at this hotel anymore when I come to columbia! A little advice for management good help is hard to find, you lost one of the best things about your hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello,

On behalf of the staff and management of HWS-Columbia, Iwould like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.

I am saddened that you choose not to stay at our hotel because our previous hostess made the hard choice of leaving us to take care of her gravely ill family member. We tried hard to replace the position with someone as capable, friendly and engaging as she was but like you said as a "little advise" good help is hard to find. We do acknowledge we lost one of the best things about our hotel. I have made mention of this review to our manager and we are looking into making hte necessary alterations in this area.

Again, I am sad that you will not be returning as a guest for "one thing", but please know we continue to work hard to maintain a clean, secure and friendly hotel for our guests.


Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family, (me, husband, 2 teenage boys) stayed here 1 night after attending a concert at the Merriweather Post Pavilion in Columbia, which is about 15 minutes away. The room was very clean and there was plenty of room for all of us. We had two queen beds plus the sofa bed, so the boys did not have to share a bed, which they appreciated. If you are going to be staying several days, the full kitchen is great, but we didn't make use of it. Also, breakfast is included, although the "scrambled eggs" tasted nothing like any eggs I've ever had. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of extra pillows. The bathroom sink is outside the toilet/tub area, which is nice when you have several people trying to get ready at once. The water pressure was just OK in the shower. There are several restaurants right across the street, and they sell frozen dinners in the lobby if you would rather stay in your room. All in all, a good value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Where else can you get a Managers Reception, a full breakfast and a 2 room suite? When we travel Homewood suites is always a good choice for value and service. This location had a friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and a nice outdoor pool. One of the staff members helped my daughter carry her bags since she was carrying her 1 year old. The desk people truly looked happy. The food servers were very hard working people. The reception that night was Asian beef and rice with a salad bar. There was iced tea and lemonaid to drink. Breakfast consisted of sausage ,eggs , pancakes, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels etc. When you factor in these perks the hotel is very affordable and very, very relaxing. The make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#3 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.