We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very comfortable and quite room. Lots of space, and a good desk to do my work from. Hot and fresh breakfast in the morning. I arrived too late to take advantage of teh managers evening reception, but the menu looked great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    82
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
122
38
15
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. It is an excellent hotel. I only have good things to say about it. Great rate. Very convenient - close to 95 and not far from BWI Airport. A bonus is that the hotel is located in a 'restaurant park' that has a McDonald's, Bob Evans, Applebees, and a TGIFridays that you can walk to. Our room was a large queen suite and was perfect for my husband and me and our 20 something daughter. The room had a sleeper sofa and a full kitchen. Room was super clean. Hotel was very quiet. Staff was friendly. The free breakfast is another bonus. Breakfast was very good and included fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, breads. waffles.... and there is a large nice room for eating. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks Homewood Suites, Columbia, MD

Room Tip: The first time we stayed here our room had a separate small bedroom, smallish sitting area with a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your return visit to our property!!

It really means alot when we are able to hit the high mark which has been placed on us, our guests. We are happy that you returned and hope you return soon.

Please have a Happy Holiday Season and come back to see us soon.

Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I read great reviews about this hotel but so far I am not at all pleased with the service. Staff at check in was less than friendly. We asked about the shuttle service & were told that is was offered for up to 5 miles, however when we returned to the lobby ~5 min later we were informed that they just ended the service at 9pm. I frequently travel with work and am always pleased with Hilton brands but the service at Homewood leaves much to be desired. My husband was also disappointed with the very slow elevator.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Daer MDgirl2012,

On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to thank you for your recent stay at our property. However, I must apologize for the (unusal) poor service you encounted while here.

It is true that our complimentary shuttle runs within a five mile radius of the hotel, but I am not sure why our service was discontinued at 9:00pm, especially since there was no inclement weather that would hamper driving conditions. I will follow up witht he Front Desk to see who was working at this particular time.

Our elevators were just inspected during the first week in December 2012 and was noted at operating within the normal speed guidlines. We will have our Chief Engineer to follow up on your husband's comment.

Given these two items, I hope that the rest of your stay was satisfactory and if you are in the area again, may you allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding party. Our room was so perfect. I work for hotels, and I did not find one thing wrong with the room and the service! The room was clean, and a great size. The staff was friendly, and very helpful. If you are in this area, STAY HERE! It's worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Carla0921,

Thank you for your return to our property!!

By you being a "hotelier", we really appreciate the great review. COME BACK HOME ANYTIME :)

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have held many overnight training programs at this hotel. The hotel is in a great location for our participants who come from all regions of Maryland. The rooms are large and clean. It is very convenient to have two bedrooms with the central living area to give participants privacy, but to also have a common area for socializing after training event. the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast, which is included in the price of the room, is among the best that I have had at any hotel. We use a large meeting space, which is set up for us. Any request is met.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in a king suite with our 2 kids (age 3 yrs and 2 months) while in town for a soccer tournament. The rate was awesome - less than we usually spend - and the room was very nice. It wasn't quite as big ad I expected, but we managed pretty well. Everything was very clean, the staff was nice, and the location was great - very close to some huge shopping and restaurant options! The only complaint I have is the timing for breakfast - they advertise that the hot breakfast is from 7-10am but both mornings we were there, we had to wait until almost 7:15 for the actual hot items to be available. It's nice to have it be fresh, but not so nice when we needed to he out the door by 7:10 to get to a game! The food itself was great, though. We would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Ford Family,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and especially to give us such a great review on Trip Advisor.

I do apologize for the breakfast being late and sincerly hope it was the only time this has happened. I would hate to think we advertise something that is not true. Unfortunately for you it was late and again I apologize, but I am looking into it to ensure it does not happen again.

Also,we are looking forward to you returning to your home away from home!!

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Many restaurants to chose from that are in walking distance. The rooms are nice and clean with full size mini-kitchens. The hot breakfast that they are offer was very nice. The Hotel staff were also very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.