We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best breakfast plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom suite for two nights. Quite convenient to BWI. Very clean, comfortable beds. Kitchen area small but very functional. Many restaurants across the street for dining. The breakfasts are the best we have experienced in this type of hotel. The hot food was plentiful and kept hot. The pans were filled frequently. There was a good selection of fruit, cereals, waffles etc. Coffee was hot and abundant. Clearly Homewood Suites was not just giving a token breakfast. The servers were very pleasant and helpful. They seemed to enjoy working here. Would certainly come again when we are in the Baltimore area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear RMHBJH,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive review on Trip Advisor. I did notice that you are a senior contributor on Trip Advisor and that must mean that you travel often.

We are so glad that your travels brought you this way and hope you return home (back to us) soon.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    62
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
90
33
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed everything! The breakfast and evening buffets were great. This is the first place we've ever stayed that actually kept the trays full and the food hot for the entire time the buffets were open. Our rooms were very clean as was the rest of the hotel. We had a two bedroom suite (for 5 people) and it was very spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was a definite plus. During our stay, the only sounds we heard were from the people above us dropping something on the floor. The hotel was very quite. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance, and a mall across the road with a huge Costco. The people that work at this hotel were extremely helpful and always had a smile on their face. This hotel is close to Fort Meade and has access to all the major highways. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Blossomjt,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. By you staying 3 nights, you were able to get a good feel for our hotel and am glad we passed the test :)

It means a lot, especially with such a great review on Trip Advisor.

I hope you continue to have great experiences during your travels with the Hilton Brand of Hotels. AND, if you are ever in the Columbia, Maryland area again, please remember your family here at Homewood.

Take care fo yourself and your family.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a group of five people so we booked a suite with two queen beds, one king bed and a sofa bed. This suite had a small kitchen, a living room with the sofa, chair and a desk. All three rooms had big television sets, there were lots of pillows on the bed, the towels were big and fluffy.

Most impressive of all was the room, the hotel and the grounds were clean and very well kept.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning and to our surprise dinner each night. It was wonderful!

Every member of the staff was very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend staying at the Homewood Suites.

Our group was able to enjoy our plans during the day and come back to the hotel, have dinner (in our suite if we wanted) and then relax all together in the living room while watching television and discussing our plans for the next day.

We enjoyed it very much. Clean, friendly and close to shopping! Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Wrightstatemom,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We are happy that you chose us for your lodging pleasure and it is our desire that cyou do not be a stranger and come back home (Homewood Suites).

We value your review of your stay and thank you for such a positve rating.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here. The beds were quite comfortable l. The breakfast was very good I loved the staff and service. The exercise equipment was very good. We hope to come back soon. We always enjoy Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff and management at Homewood Suites - Columbia, I want to thank you for your recent stay with us! We value your enjoyment in choosing our brand for your hotel accomodations and hope you continue in the future. Also, we do appreciate such kind remarks posted on Trip Advisor !

If you are not already, please consider becoming a Hhonors member.

Thank You,
Norman Eaton
General Manager


We spent one night here. The beds were quite comfortable l. The breakfast was very good I loved the staff and service. The exercise equipment was very good. We hope to come back soon. We always enjoy Homewood Suites.

Stayed September 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is located between DC and Baltimore, off I-95. Depending on how you get there, it could be a little difficult to find... especially at night. It was raining and I wasn't use to driving in the mid-Atlantic region, so I'm just a little biased. The breakfast in the morning, and manager's reception were the bomb! The rooms were super-clean. My only complaint is that I wish the trash cans in the rooms were bigger. Families on the road tend to generate a lot more trash than the day-to-day hotel guests. Also, there was a small shopping center across the street with about 2-3 restaurants for your dining enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff and management of Homewood Suites - Columbia, I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you had to find us in such bad weather, but am glad you made it safely!

Also, thank you for sharing such a positive review of your stay with us. It really means a lot and we do take it seriously. Oh, we are looking into purchasing larger trash cans. It is true, the ones in our suites can be quite small, especially for families and extended stay guests. We are also happy that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary Suite Start Breakfast and Welcome Home Reception.

When traveling in the areas, please come back home and stay a while :)

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton'
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is in a convenient location and is located within walking distance of 4 area restaurants. Very friendly staff. Free breakfast and evening manager's reception. Being a Hilton Diamond, I was given an upgrade to a nice suite. Would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Homewood Suites - Columbia. Also, I want to thank you for your continued loyalty to the Hilton Brand of Hotels, as well as to acknoweldge your Diamond status.

We appreciate your positive response from your stay with us and hope you come back home soon.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed at this property several times, most recently in August, 2012. It is just off the highway but far enough that you won't hear cars going by all night. Also, it is very convenient to both Baltimore and Washington. Several restaurants are within a mile of the property.

Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast offers an abundant selection of foods (eggs, bacon, waffles, muffins, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, juices, etc.) but can be VERY crowded if you don't show up in the first hour. The staff is absolutely on top of keeping it stocked, though.

We usually ask for a room away from the elevator and on a higher floor, which seems to result in very quiet nights. There is a pool and basketball court that is visible (and audible) from many of the rooms, so request another if your small ones need to get to sleep early.

Room Tip: King suites like 219 and 319 should provide some of the quietest options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Richmond787,

Thank you for your most favorale review on Trip Advisor. We do value your being a frequent family member at our hotel and we will do our best to keep 219 or 319 for you as an option, since it seems to be your favorite. And you are correct, we do tend to fill up in our dining area very fast, but our owners are working on that. We do not want to limit eating time, nor do we want to limit our food selection. More space is lways better!

Again thank you for your resoonse and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton
Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Columbia
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.