We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Chesapeake
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“OK Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed at this Homewood as it was the less expensive Hilton brand choice in the area for that night. The place was clean and quiet. When I came in the young front desk attendant was just finishing eating and check-in was a bit more casual than usual. The room was in the typical Homewood suites layout of kitchen/living area separated from the bedroom/bath by a door. The place seemed tightly packed with furniture and thus cramped. Opening the bedroom door have blocked the path to the bathroom. Otherwise I got a good night sleep and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    90
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
131
45
17
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I travel quite a bit for business and generally have good experience with Hilton chains. This is one of the best hotel stays I've had in a long time, especially for the price! The front desk staff was extremely friendly. I had a nice room in an upper corner with a nice little kitchen, full sized fridge, small dining table, living area with couch and large flat-screen TV, separate bedroom (with yet another TV), sink area, and separate toilet/bath. Super clean and comfy bed. They even left a couple bottles of water and a package of Milano cookies when I got to my room. Additionally, it was near Christmas and they even had a Holiday card left for me with some of the employee's/manager's signatures written in by hand. Really nice touch!

Within walking, you can find plenty of restaurants, a Trader Joe's, and one of the nicest and fully stocked liquor/beer stores I've ever been to (Perfect Pour). If you like beer, don't miss it! Hotel is only a few minutes from BWI which is a plus.

They also have a complimentary dinner (buffet-style) most nights.

I will definitely stay here again and even go out of my way a little if needed to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Nice place for a trip to the Washington/Baltimore area... Far enough from either city to "get away" from the hustle of the city. Plenty of decent places to eat but I would recommend avoiding the chains and go for a local place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great place to stay! Roomy suite, full size fridge, clean rooms and a comfy bed. The free breakfast in the morning was very good. Across the parking lot were several restaurants, TGI Friday's, Applebee's, Bob Evens, Olive Garden and a McD’s. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Love the convenience of having a suite--kids have their bedroom and bath and we had ours with a shared living area and kitchen (with a dishwasher!). This hotel has been renovated since the last time we stayed there, which means new carpet, wall covering, flat screen TVs (lousy picture, though). But my overall takeaway from this place is that the staff, though friendly, is not very professional; the decor, though new and pleasant is marred by a terrible smell from the detergent used to wash their linens and towels. I guess, you can't beat the price, but not sure I'd stay here again...

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor (4th)--you can hear every footstep of the people staying above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Have stayed at this extended stay facility 2 different times. Great rooms, quiet. Pleasant staff. Great breakfast. Used pool on first stay in July. Second time was Oct. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We picked this hotel for a "Girl's Weekend" trip down to Maryland. I am SO GLAD that we did! It was located close to where we were visiting, close to restaurants, shopping and the airport, a PERFECT location!
We LOVED the two bedroom Suites! To be able to have a full kitchen, dining area and living room, separate from the two bedrooms was SUPER!
We did not cook, just made Tea and Coffee, but, if we had stayed longer, I am sure that we would have.
ALL the rooms had HUGE flat screen TV's, the beds and pillows were VERY comfy, the linens on the bed were EXTRA NICE, the bathrooms were large by average hotel size, and everything was VERY, VERY CLEAN!!
ALL the hotel staff we interacted with during our two days were ALL very nice and helpfull. I misplaced a watch and just minutes after I placed a call to the front desk a young man was up moving my bedroom furniture trying to find it. That was great!
The Breakfast was also a BIG BONUS!! There was hot food like scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, oat meal, make-your-own waffles, cold cereal, breads, bagels, danish, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. It was all very good.
I hear that during the week there is also complimentary Dinner.
Directly across the street from this hotel is a row of chain restaurants like McDonalds, TGI Fridays, Olive Garden and Applebees.
I reccomend this hotel HIGHLY!
I can not wait to stay in my next Homewood Suites!!!

Room Tip: This is a large hotel, so if you have bad knees, trouble walking, ask for a room close to the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.