We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Nice place for a trip to the Washington/Baltimore area... Far enough from either city to "get away" from the hustle of the city. Plenty of decent places to eat but I would recommend avoiding the chains and go for a local place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    82
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
122
39
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great place to stay! Roomy suite, full size fridge, clean rooms and a comfy bed. The free breakfast in the morning was very good. Across the parking lot were several restaurants, TGI Friday's, Applebee's, Bob Evens, Olive Garden and a McD’s. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Love the convenience of having a suite--kids have their bedroom and bath and we had ours with a shared living area and kitchen (with a dishwasher!). This hotel has been renovated since the last time we stayed there, which means new carpet, wall covering, flat screen TVs (lousy picture, though). But my overall takeaway from this place is that the staff, though friendly, is not very professional; the decor, though new and pleasant is marred by a terrible smell from the detergent used to wash their linens and towels. I guess, you can't beat the price, but not sure I'd stay here again...

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor (4th)--you can hear every footstep of the people staying above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Have stayed at this extended stay facility 2 different times. Great rooms, quiet. Pleasant staff. Great breakfast. Used pool on first stay in July. Second time was Oct. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We picked this hotel for a "Girl's Weekend" trip down to Maryland. I am SO GLAD that we did! It was located close to where we were visiting, close to restaurants, shopping and the airport, a PERFECT location!
We LOVED the two bedroom Suites! To be able to have a full kitchen, dining area and living room, separate from the two bedrooms was SUPER!
We did not cook, just made Tea and Coffee, but, if we had stayed longer, I am sure that we would have.
ALL the rooms had HUGE flat screen TV's, the beds and pillows were VERY comfy, the linens on the bed were EXTRA NICE, the bathrooms were large by average hotel size, and everything was VERY, VERY CLEAN!!
ALL the hotel staff we interacted with during our two days were ALL very nice and helpfull. I misplaced a watch and just minutes after I placed a call to the front desk a young man was up moving my bedroom furniture trying to find it. That was great!
The Breakfast was also a BIG BONUS!! There was hot food like scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, oat meal, make-your-own waffles, cold cereal, breads, bagels, danish, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. It was all very good.
I hear that during the week there is also complimentary Dinner.
Directly across the street from this hotel is a row of chain restaurants like McDonalds, TGI Fridays, Olive Garden and Applebees.
I reccomend this hotel HIGHLY!
I can not wait to stay in my next Homewood Suites!!!

Room Tip: This is a large hotel, so if you have bad knees, trouble walking, ask for a room close to the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here Labor Day weekend. Upon arrival, I was greeted and checked in quickly. The price was resonable. I had the 2 bedroom king/2 bath suite. I picked that room because it said it slept 7. Price was reasonable. Upon entering, is a small kitchen/livingroom. Full size fridge with ice maker-yes, there was fresh ice waiting for us. Then off to each side were identical rooms/bathrooms. The 3 rooms had flat screen tvs. I feel this room sleeps 5 comfortably, 6 at the most. We had 7, 3 of which where children.

The Good: Comfy beds, Flat screen tv, Full kitchen with large fridge and dishwasher. FREE HOT BUFFET BREAKFAST. Allows pets. Many restaraunts within walking distance. Staff was excellent.

The Bad: cigarette burn in bedspread. Soap splatter (I hope) on bathroom door/wall. Not enough towels for 7-just asked for more. Extra rolls of tp not kept in bathroom, not a big deal. Went to front desk and asked for one, then later found on in cabinet under vanity. LOL
The hallway door leading to back of parking lot was supposed to be secure and locked-never locked. The pool was a little dirty (just a little) and the spa was in need of some repair. Tiles were missing and it did not get hot, barely warm. Though it was end of season.

So overall, I would stay again for the right price. Maybe just get 2 rooms instead of 1 for 2 families.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Having tried the other Homewood Suites hotels in the general area, we thought we'd try this one out this time. We were quite happy with the choice and would recommend the hotel and would stay there again. In short, the positives were big, the negatives were small.

This hotel is a pretty standard Homewood Suites experience. We were really pleased with the included breakfasts, though. It seemed like there was a very large variety of things and there were choices for kids, adults, people who want to eat a little more healthy, and people who want sausage and eggs every day. We were also really impressed with the lady running the kitchen and dining area. She went out of her way to help people out. The dinners were also fine, but the drink selection was pretty sparse (this is typical of Homewood Suites). There wasn't even soda, and for those used to beer and wine at Homewood Suites, there is none here (or anywhere in Maryland — this wasn't a problem for us, but it might be something other guests are expecting).

We experienced a small problem at check-in. We had reserved a room online, but when we arrived, we were informed that our room wasn't available because the current occupant had extended. We were given a somewhat similar room for the first night. The front desk's communication with us over this problem wasn't too great, but on the second night, we were able to move to the reserved room. In the end, the hotel worked hard to make it right by charging us the smaller room's price for our entire stay.

One drawback at this hotel for those traveling with families is that the swimming pool is an outdoor pool and closes right after Labor Day. There is a basketball hoop there for people to use, which can be fun to use, but it's not the same. (One thing about the basketball hoop is that people tend to use it all the way until 9:00 p.m., and even in our room on the third floor on the opposite side of the courtyard, we could hear the balls bouncing. Really, though, the noise was very minor.)

The hotel runs a shuttle that you can pretty much use on demand, but it is limited by about a 5-mile radius around the hotel. They did seem to be willing to take you to the nearby Columbia Mall, though, even though it's slightly outside that limit.

Right around the hotel there are a number of family restaurants, a McDonald's, and at the end of the street are some big box retailers and a strip mall-type place. The location of the hotel is maybe a little bit hard to find if you're not familiar with the area, but once you do, you'll be surrounded by the types of stores and restaurants extended stay clients typically need.

Everything else about the hotel was pretty much fine. The Internet connection, as is typical at hotels, was pretty slow. The cable channel selection seemed pretty good. They give you USA Today each morning. House cleaning was good, but seemed to get to our room rather late (I'm sure that if we asked, they would've come earlier). We thought our two-room, two-bath (the bathrooms have bathtubs, which is nicer than some Homewood Suites that only have showers) suite with one king-size bed and two queens was nice. Everything was in working order, and the kids enjoyed the little bit of extra room that the larger room provided.

All in all, it was a nice stay at a good hotel.

Room Tip: Not only do the two-room suites with one king bed and two queens have more beds, the room itself is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.