We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great things + some good things = recommendation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Some great things + some good things = recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Having tried the other Homewood Suites hotels in the general area, we thought we'd try this one out this time. We were quite happy with the choice and would recommend the hotel and would stay there again. In short, the positives were big, the negatives were small.

This hotel is a pretty standard Homewood Suites experience. We were really pleased with the included breakfasts, though. It seemed like there was a very large variety of things and there were choices for kids, adults, people who want to eat a little more healthy, and people who want sausage and eggs every day. We were also really impressed with the lady running the kitchen and dining area. She went out of her way to help people out. The dinners were also fine, but the drink selection was pretty sparse (this is typical of Homewood Suites). There wasn't even soda, and for those used to beer and wine at Homewood Suites, there is none here (or anywhere in Maryland — this wasn't a problem for us, but it might be something other guests are expecting).

We experienced a small problem at check-in. We had reserved a room online, but when we arrived, we were informed that our room wasn't available because the current occupant had extended. We were given a somewhat similar room for the first night. The front desk's communication with us over this problem wasn't too great, but on the second night, we were able to move to the reserved room. In the end, the hotel worked hard to make it right by charging us the smaller room's price for our entire stay.

One drawback at this hotel for those traveling with families is that the swimming pool is an outdoor pool and closes right after Labor Day. There is a basketball hoop there for people to use, which can be fun to use, but it's not the same. (One thing about the basketball hoop is that people tend to use it all the way until 9:00 p.m., and even in our room on the third floor on the opposite side of the courtyard, we could hear the balls bouncing. Really, though, the noise was very minor.)

The hotel runs a shuttle that you can pretty much use on demand, but it is limited by about a 5-mile radius around the hotel. They did seem to be willing to take you to the nearby Columbia Mall, though, even though it's slightly outside that limit.

Right around the hotel there are a number of family restaurants, a McDonald's, and at the end of the street are some big box retailers and a strip mall-type place. The location of the hotel is maybe a little bit hard to find if you're not familiar with the area, but once you do, you'll be surrounded by the types of stores and restaurants extended stay clients typically need.

Everything else about the hotel was pretty much fine. The Internet connection, as is typical at hotels, was pretty slow. The cable channel selection seemed pretty good. They give you USA Today each morning. House cleaning was good, but seemed to get to our room rather late (I'm sure that if we asked, they would've come earlier). We thought our two-room, two-bath (the bathrooms have bathtubs, which is nicer than some Homewood Suites that only have showers) suite with one king-size bed and two queens was nice. Everything was in working order, and the kids enjoyed the little bit of extra room that the larger room provided.

All in all, it was a nice stay at a good hotel.

Room Tip: Not only do the two-room suites with one king bed and two queens have more beds, the room itself is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    77
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
117
38
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stopped here after traveling many hours. Not having a reservation I was concerned about getting a room. Not only did we get a room but I was greated by great customer service, a great rate and quick check in.

Breakfast was very good, as usual at a homewood. Rooms were clean, comfy, safe. Business center had everything I needed to print directions to the next stop on our trip.

There are several restaurants within walking distance on a quiet private cul-de-sac street. My only complaint would be signage. Very hard to see the small homewood sign when driving into an unfamiliar area.

There is only a seasonal, outdoor pool (which was closed) which was disappointing but OK in the overall scope.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Hi mysterie91,

Thanks for the great review! We are glad we had room ready for you and that you enjoyed the hotel. We appreciate the feedback on the signage. Hope to see you again soon if you return to the area. Safe travels!

Heather Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We recently completed our second extended stay at the Homewood Suites in Columbia, Maryland for business reasons.

The hotel, which just completed a full renovation in September, is a very nice looking hotel, and also very clean. The rooms always smell fresh and clean when you first enter. Even after the renovation, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we were moved to a new room, halfway during our second stay, and it smelled just as fresh and had no bad odor from the renovation.

The staff is exceptional. I cannot even begin to describe the level of hospitality that every single staff member shows to each and every guest. I had the misfortune of witnessing some guests complain over things such as the room being too warm when they first arrived and of there being too much furniture in the room, In both those instances I witnessed the staff respond in a respectful and kind manner. They always did their best to accomodate the annoyed guest no matter how rude the guest became. The room may sometimes be a bit warm once you enter it but if you have patience and set the thermostat for the room to your desired temperature the room will quickly meet your expectations. We were on the top floor for half of our stay and even during the highest heat of the summer, our room was always very comfortable. We did notice a slight difference in how quickly the room cooled down from our original room which was on the first floor, but that was it. As for the rooms being too crowded with furniture, we had two children with us and two adults and we had no problems with the amount of furniture. We did do a bit of rearranging to meet our specific needs (kids trying to climb things they shouldn't), but it was easy to do and I am sure the staff would have offered to help if we had asked.

The hotel always provides a full buffet for breakfast and there is something for everyone's taste. From hot eggs and sausage to oatmeal and yogurt or cereal. If you can't find something then just ask, they will do their best to accomodate you. They also provide a full dinner Monday through Thursday and they make everything from pasta to rotisserie chicken and there is always a salad bar provided and dessert. If you don't want the food provided then you can always make your own in the fully equipped kitchen. The only thing that is not provided is an oven but we didn't really miss the oven during our three month stay.

The location of the hotel is wonderful and you can get to all of the Baltimore attractions as well as DC attractions quite easily on 95. If you have no idea what you want to see or do, then the staff can help with that too. They are very informative about area attractions including the best playgrounds for kids.

If you are looking for a hotel for business or pleasure, this is the hotel to stay at in the Baltimore area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Hi carsmrzalo,

We are so glad to hear about the great experience you had at our hotel and thrilled you enjoyed the renovated room. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff. Hope to see you return soon!

Heather Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked this hotel because of its good reviews and easy access to Route 95. We found that there were four restaurants within walking distance from the hotel and many more with a 5-10 minute drive. Our king suite consisted of two rooms. A living room with a complete kitchen and a separate bedroom with attached bathroom. Both rooms had a good size flat screen TV. While the two rooms were small, they were perfect for two people. The door between the two rooms allowed one person to watch TV while the other person was reading in the adjacent room. The breakfast selection of hot and cold items was awesome! We were impressed enough with our stay at this hotel to sign up for the Hilton Honors program.

The only negative was the speed of the Internet connection. Using the public computers off the lobby, we found them to be painfully slow; like the old days of dial up. Just to get to my first e-mail took about five minute; accessing the second e-mail added a couple more minutes. Other people in the room experienced the same situation. Maybe accessing the Internet from your room is faster but we did not have a laptop with us to check.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Hi iyob,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience! We thank you for choosing to stay with us and appreciate the feedback on the internet speed. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel enough to sign up with our HHonors program. What a great compliment! Safe travels!

Heather Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

They do a good job of making your feel welcome when you walk in. They offered breakfast and even dinner, and the rooms were big with frig, microwave, flat screen, nice bed...very comfortable. Surprisingly nice experience. Some decent family style restuarants in the area, too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Hi jennmelzer,

Thanks so much for the great review! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel suites, breakfast and Manager's Reception. We hope to see you again if you return to the area.

Thanks!

Heather Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked this hotel because we were going to a festival at Merriweather Pavilion. This hotel was about 3 or so miles from it. It is on a restaurant row- so there is about 4 - 5 chain restaurants across the street within walking distance. There is also a large shopping center down the road (for alcohol, food, convenience, etc). Hotel is a suite hotel so mini kitchen w/ fridge, dishwasher, stovetop. It was like a small apartment and very clean. Mon - Thurs they serve a complimentary dinner and there is a complimentary breakfast every day. We did not participate in either or make much use of the kitchen but had I decided to stay in that area again for longer than 3 days it is definitely recommended. Great stay! Also, VERY CLEAN!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear jenitravel,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Thanks!

Heather Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New JErsey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

we thought everything was so perfect staying here, one of the main reasons we chose this hotel is because we knew it would be a gorgeous day and wanted to use the pool while this may have been the last great weather weekend of the summer. Through our room window there is a really nice pool and jacuzzi with chairs and cushions out. I got all ready to get some sun and hop into the pool, until I walked up to the pool gate and it was LOCKED. I went to the front desk to ask why the pool was closed and he said it closes on labor day monday and I asked if there was any chance that they could open the pool as there were also a big group of guests sitting right outside the pool also disappointed since it was closed. The front desk clerk said no and it wasn't in his power to decide to open. He said it was the general manager's decision and the general manager was not here this weekend. On the website it advertises a pool/jacuzzi with no note of when it closes. I'm very disappointed. They should be more descriptive about their amenities.,

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the pool hours of operation were not clearly stated and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of communicating pool hours with our guests. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to Columbia I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.