We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Cheery just not comfortable!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8241 Snowden River Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
2 reviews
“Nice & Cheery just not comfortable!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

So the entrance is nice and the hallways. And yes breakfast to order is always nice. But the room was one thing that wasn't nice. This room had a king bed in a suite. Two rooms and two TVs not bad eh? But the air conditioning vent in the bedroom is pointed right at you. That's not bad if you want a polar bear face and arms in the morning when you wake up. I asked them to fix this but their fix just pointed the air flow to another wall which bounced off and came back to haunt you in bed. Anyway the bed was tough,
hard foam and difficult to turn over or move off the bed. Now the doors for the closet were off track and I had to take them off to open them. Hopefully you have some strength to do so. But this was repaired in a couple of days. Hope you don't mind picking up the stopper in the bath tub each day. For some reason the maid always made sure I would be forced to open the stopper (Ewww) each time I took a shower. Maybe it was to show she cleaned the tub. Who knows, just annoying. Anyway that was my experience. Oh I forgot to mention that after dinner when I came back to the hotel they never had any chocolate cookies left. Not like that other Hilton I stayed in. Maybe I'll get lucky next time then again maybe I'll go back to the other Hilton. Good Luck with this one.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    65
    34
    17
    10
See reviews for
42
40
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

A quiet, well-maintained hotel that gives good value for the cost. It is reasonably close to Washington, D.C., which we visited, but at a much lower price than Washington hotels. Parking was ample and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is our second stay b/c our son and his family live in Columbia, MD. Very nice staff. Overall good place to stay, no complaints. Free parking is a plus, and room was equipped for seniors and handicapped persons as we are.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel is located between a great gastro pub, a Mexican restaurant, a breakfast joint and Mcdonalds all within walking distance!! 4 thumbs up!! Its also right next to a gas station and close to I 95!! Great location and very affordable. I used price line which was more than what the hotel normally charges!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here during a business trip and I was 100% satisfied. The staff was super friendly and my room was huge. A few good places close by if you're looking for food and entertainment. A good choice for business and value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stay at this hotel every year for the M3 Festival at Merriweather Post Pavillion. This is our 4th year and it was a great experience as always. The staff is friendly and very helpful and the hotel is always clean. Will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The average HGI is usually very clean, comfortable, and well run. This one is all that and more.

Pros
First off I want to specifically call out Erica at the front desk for her outstanding service. I had a problem with my corporate AMEX that required her to get on the phone with them and iron out some issue with it being newly activated card. This took several minutes. When other guests came to the desk she professionally called up help from the back room and no one was inconvenienced. I was greeted warmly by everyone I encountered. My room on the back side was comfortable and overlooked a small pond. Plenty of parking and there are two good restaurants within easy walking distance.

Cons
Really the only thing that I think could be improved is when you next remodel, get furniture that allows you to see the TV from the chair. If I swiveled it towards the chair, the remote was blocked and I couldn't change channels, etc. Also, I don't think the pond behind the property is yours, but I think it would be good if you could send out some people to pick up some of the trash around it that can be viewed from the upper floors.

Overall
Locations like this one are why so many of us are loyal to the Hilton brand. Keep it up, and my thanks to Erica.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your feedback. It is great to hear that Erica provided you with great service. She will be recognized in front of her peers. The pond out back is not ours, however we do pick up the debris on occasion. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbia

Address: 8241 Snowden River Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.