We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbia

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8241 Snowden River Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Los Altos, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were visiting family in Baltimore/ and DC for the weekend. We found this hotel convenient, clean and comfotable. We had a large quiet room with several amenities including free wi-fi and refriderator. The front desk were friendly and helpful. There are a good variety of eating establishments within walking distance or a short drive away. The hotel is only about 15 minutes easy drive from the airport. We didn't use the indoor pool and hot tub but it seemed clean and warm. We would, certainly, recommend this hotel as providing value and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    56
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
32
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here several times and it never disappoints. Clean comfortable rooms and a friendly staff. The workout room leaves something to be desired. The breakfast was very good and relaxing but the guy who was cooking could use some help. Overall I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We drove though Washington on Friday night at rush hour (huge mistake by the way - 2 hrs to cover 25 miles) so it was a treat to get off the freeway and pull into the quiet neighborhood where this hotel is situated.

We paid $109 for our two dbl bed room and that included breakfast (cooked to order) for us and our two under 12 kids...you just needed to be a member of Hilton HHonors. We sign up for all of the hotel chain rewards programs because they can sometimes get you great deals like this.

The hotel is beautiful. Large bright lobby with a restaurant.

The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable.

WiFi was free and very good.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our only issue was eating at the restaurant in the lobby where the waiter and chef were watching TV at the bar when we arrived (it was a Friday and this seems more like a business weekday spot) and the TV was really loud. We asked the waiter to turn it down and he did...but also turned the channel to some sort of hybrid Mexican wrestling. Ummm..okay. But that's nitpicking.

The chef who cooked us dinner also cooked us breakfast and he was fantastic. Friendly and a great cook.

All front desk staff were lovely.

After lots of traveling this hotel was almost luxury for a discount price.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Unlike the positive reviews other written this one is not good. My main complain is the NOISE. During my stay this place should be renamed Hilton's Playground for Unsupervised Children. There were large numbers of kids running up and down the hallways all day and night long.

After the first, mostly, sleepless night I called and asked for a room on the top floor so that, at least no one would be running on the floor above me. That helped a little but it was still noisy. The employee claimed they couldn't do anything about the kids until they could find the parents.

After the second night I canceled my reservation for the 3rd night and moved to another hotel. The main two things I look for in a hotel is cleanliness and quiet and this one failed miserable. I got the impression they just didn't want to deal with the noise issue.

If you see any kind of bus in front of a hotel and it involves kids DON'T stay at the hotel. You won't get any real support from the hotel. Other than the noise it was a functional hotel (clean, wireless internet although it was slow at times, bed was good, pillows were way too soft, free fridge, etc.).

I'm not unfamiliar with kids since I have a 8 yr old nephew and know they can get noisy at times but this was completely unacceptable.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor to try and minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We have been regular visitors to this hotel over the last five years. It has always been a good value, and has always been a a preferred stopping place for us. The quality of rooms, housekeeping, linen has dropped significantly over the last year. Customer service and breakfast are still OK.

Room Tip: Try not to miss breakfast: it is the nicest feature in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

What else can you ask? The room was very very big, and there is nothing to complain about the cleanliness. The hotel has a small poll and jacuzzi free for guest, free wifi in the rooms. It also has free parking for the guests. It 15 mins from Baltimore and 1 hour from Washington. You need a car to move around, but, everything else is just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

My friends and arrived at the Hilton on a scorching hot day in June only to get to our room on the third floor to realize the AC was not working. We called down to the front desk and were instructed to flip some switches and turn some knobs ( the switches on the base unit had actually been removed). Instead of coming up to help out we were told to give it a few minutes to see if it would cool off even though we told them it was clearly not turning on and we needed to be on our way out immediately. Maintenance came to the room to look at the unit and was actually the only polite person I encountered during my stay, he took a look and realized it was nit going to be a quick fix so asked if we wanted to switch rooms....ummm hello! Of course we did! We told them we were in a rush and needed to go but the manager on duty was no where to be found so someone at the desk took down our current room number and said they'd move our bags to our new room and we could get our key when we returned. When we returned later that night and got our new room assignment we were really Not that surprised to find our luggage was not in there but still sitting in the stifling hot first room so we had to track someone down AGAIN in order to get our stuff! We gotno apology for any inconvenience, in fact the only thing we got was an attitude. I would NEVER give them my business again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbia

Address: 8241 Snowden River Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.