We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer Selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frisco Tap House and Brewery

Frisco Tap House and Brewery
6695 Dobbin Road, Columbia, MD 21045
410.312.4907
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 219 restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
baltimore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

So many beer draught choices....and better than average pub grub. The restaurant is in a non-descript office/industrial center. But once inside you'll quickly notice that it is a beer haven.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    12
    8
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wide Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a really nice low key bar, with a very wide micro brew beer selection. The food is quite good as well. The service was great, they make good recommendations about beer. The only downside is the parking is very limited

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Maryland, and Columbia, have become a great place for beer drinkers. Frisco very much adds to the experience. An enormous rotating selection, including at least one cask drawn choice.

At least one friend bemoaned losing their old Cal-Mex menu to more upscale fare, but I really like it. I had excellent house made hot corned beef with apple slaw and horseradish, with hand cut fries.

Service was great, although at lunch on a Wednesday the place was near empty. I've heard parking is challenging during prime drinking times, but I don't have experience with that.

The location is also convenient...around many businesses and shopping areas. Another reason to recommend it for lunch when out and about on errands.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Let's start with the good. First of all, the beer. Frisco's has a large selection of craft beers and a knowledgeable staff that can help you choice a beer you will like. Beer prices are reasonable and about what you would pay anywhere. Beers are listed on a large, electronic board. Much better than the typical unreadable chalk boards in most pubs. More on the board later.

Second, Frisco's offers free valet parking on busy nights. That's a good thing, because with a small parking lot, most people would just drive away if they didn't find a place to park. Yet despite how crowded the parking lot was, we were seated inside immediately.

Now for the bad, starting with the food. The pulled pork sandwich tasted industrial - most likely the BBQ sauce came straight from a large can. It wasn't bad, but it certainly wasn't good. And the french fries were burnt to a crisp - they looked like used match sticks. I had the send the fries back, and the second batch was only a little better.

Service was not a strong point either. Our server was very attentive until we ordered, then she disappeared.

And as to that large electronic board - nice idea, but since there is only one board, there are lots of places where you can't see it. From our table for example. Even if I twisted completely around, there was still a pillar in our way, as well as other customers.

And the ugly. Less than a minute after our appetizers came out, the server showed up with our entrees. She took them back to stay warm, but less than two minutes later, another person brought them back to us. We sent them back again, and again someone brought the meals out. This time we kept them and ended up eating the food cold.

Major fail by the kitchen, which should be able to keep track of when appetizers and entrees should be prepared and major fail by the server staff, which obviously doesn't communicate with each other.

Bottom line - I'd go back for a few beers, but I won't go back for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great beer and excellent food! Valet parking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

You can't go wrong with Frisco - it's the perfect place to grab a good beer and great food. Both the drink and food menus are always changing, so if you've been once, you should go back. Just be warned, this place gets very crowded and loud. They now have free valet parking!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frisco Tap House and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Frisco Tap House and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisco Tap House and Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.