We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green through and through” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Nature Center

Robinson Nature Center
6692 Cedar lane, Columbia, MD 21044
410-313-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Columbia
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive and multisensory exhibits for all ages NatureSphere, a digital planetarium and dome-style theater, with programs and movies Two-story “Life of the Forest” exhibit Children’s Discovery Room with hands-on activities classrooms.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Green through and through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great educational oppotunity for the whole family. The planetarium is a must see. Many hands on activities for youngsters.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
“Awesome Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visited with my brother and I really enjoyed it. Although it is mostly geared for kids, it was still an educational experience. We both learned a lot and enjoyed the nature trails. This place will be even better after they finish the trails (it looks like they are cutting down trees so they can plant some native plants. There are blank plaques everywhere so they can put up information about the plants along the trails. It also looks like they are planting in the gardens. I would highly suggest that people of all ages should visit. It was well worth the $5! You might want to wait until it's summertime so that the plants will have time to bloom along the trails.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This fairly new Howard County park facility was built to be an eco-friendly and educational destination. Landscaping took advantage of the natural topography, and includes native plantings. The building houses workshops and educational displays. Great place for a picnic lunch and to take children for enviro9nmental lessons.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's beautiful, natured class room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spring, Summer, Fall! Never been here in the Winter, and almost in my back door! Field trips, nature walks, exhibits, and it holds alot of people!

Oh they have playgrounds also!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture & very educational”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here as a company outing...if you're into "green and sustainable" buildings -- then this one is a 'must-see'!! I learned a lot before even walking through the exhibits. Once we did though I was a little disappointed. Hopefully, there will be more on the horizon...but everything they are doing for the environment is great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Robinson Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinson Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.