We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Taj

Royal Taj
8874 McGaw Rd, Columbia, MD
410-381-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Highland, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Royal Taj is the real deal in Indian food! The buffet is not to be missed and make sure you get some of their Chai tea. Oh and don't miss the freshly made dosas as they are incredible and when they have the gajar halwa save room it is delicious. The owner Bindha Singh makes you feel welcome and like you are part of the family. Be prepared to wait because there is always a line, but it is SO worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    27
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My friend was a longtime skeptic of Indian cuisine but upon eating at Royal Taj, she was converted into an Indian cuisine enthusiast. I went with her and could clearly see why. The restaurant is very clean and comfortable, we were greeted upon arrival and sat immediately to our booth. I am not terribly familiar with Indian dishes so I decided to try a little bit of everything and did not regret it! The chai tea latte was exceptional and so was the rice pudding dessert! For a family of four, the bill was a tad bit pricey but totally worth it given the frequency of eating Indian food! If you are in the area, it's a must try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“exceptional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

For a restaurant in a strip mall, this place is a stand out. The restaurant was busy but we had reservations and were seated immediately. The staff was exceptional- they did not rush you through dinner. The food was the best Indian food we have had since London and the price was very reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in a While”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was the best Indian Food I have had in a while. I had the Tiki Masala Salmon and my wife had the Tiki Masala Chicken. Both were delicious as were the sauces and bread that was served before the meal. The manager even came over and comped me a glass of wine for no particular reason. Service was very prompt and they never let my water glass get down to less than half! If I lived here this would be one of my regular nights out. Our entrees were both between $15 and $20.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fine dining and kid friendly ... Bonus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The good was wonderful! Samosas tasty, roti buttery and the mixed grilled meats sizzling hot at the table with tons of flavor. This place is fit for fine dining yet kid friendly. My husband and I arrived with our very active two year old and they greeted us very nicely holding all doors open. Eager to eat they waited on us hand and foot it seemed that way anyway. The head waiter ( I guess that's what he's called) came over a few times to make small talk, check on my son and even brought him over a drink. Well the drink was so good ( mango, milk, sugar) smoothie that he drank it in about five minutes flat. The waiters seemed to know the menu and had plenty of recommendations for ordering "plenty" for the table and not too much. We will be going back again really soon. I would totally recommend going to their brunch buffet to sample some of the many dishes they offer. The buffet samples change daily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Taj also viewed

 

Been to Royal Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Taj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.