We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good punjabi food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Taj

Royal Taj
8874 McGaw Rd, Columbia, MD
410-381-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good punjabi food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had their lunch buffet today and every dish I tried was tasty. Special mention goes to the aloo tikki,punjabi kadhi, aloo baingan and fish curry.
They were really busy for Sunday lunch but pleasant service.
Great to have an indian restaurant offering authentic flavor options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    37
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Columbia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've eaten in all the Indian restaurants in Columbia MD and this one is by far the best. I went for during lunch and had the buffet. Everything, I'm not kidding everything, was really good. The presentation was good. It was all at the right temperature and seemed to be seasoned just right. The restaurant was clean and the staff was very polite and helpful. This was honestly one of the best restaurant experiences I've had in a while. I highly recommend Royal Taj.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

When my hosts suggested that we go to an Indian restaurant in Columbia, I dind't quite know what to expect. What we got was authentic Indian dishes, cooked using fresh ingredients and prepared according to the tastes of each individual guest (mild, medium, hot or Indian hot). I've eaten at many Indian restaurants and I can honestly say that the food at the Royal Taj is the best I've tasted!

Only slight criticism - I love classical music but it doesn't really help with the ambience of an Indian restaurant. Authentice Indian instrumental music would be nicer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome food, Awesome Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

the Good,
ample parking, easy to find, very clean, awesome service, did i say that the food was amazing? as with many other indian eateries this is a vegetarian's heaven. when we got there there was a line, the host came and promised to have us seated in 10 mins and sure enough we were seated in 10 mins enjoying good food.

the BAD:
the only down side is that this restaurant has limited space inside, you cannot miss the feeling of being overcrowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go out of your way for this Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Been here twice. The first time was with a colleague who highly recommended it, and we had the lunch buffet. That was fantastic. The second time was just yesterday with my wife for dinner on the way home to Virginia. She never had Indian food before. We both were wowed by the experience. The food and service were perfect. Price is very reasonable. Staff strives for and achieves perfect service. Go here for fine Indian dining. You don't find may places like this, and I don't give many places 5 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Taj also viewed

 

Been to Royal Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Taj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.