We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Taj

Royal Taj
8874 McGaw Rd, Columbia, MD 21045
410-381-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 236 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been going here since it opened. The only problem we ever have with this place is getting in. If you don't want to wait you need to make sure you go off-hours. The service is always great. The lunch buffet is the largest of all the Indian restaurants in the area. In our opinion this is the number 1 Indian restaurant in Columbia, with House of India being a close second.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marauder40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One More Overly Satisfied Guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have had a better experience dinning out. As mentioned in the other reviews, the food is amazing. Full of flavor and wonderful spice. We felt very welcomed and cared for during our meal. The host checked on us multiple times to ensure all of our needs were taken care of. We will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Eric2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good, but no way tops in Columbia!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Whoa, seeing in at the number one spot for Columbia today makes me write this review. Royal Taj is your average American Indian restaurants. Food is good, service is fine, but its not even the best Indian food in town. The restaurant is crowded inside and the detracts from the experience. We eaten here twice and both times wished we headed to a different Indian choice inside. Chicken tiki masala tasted like it had fake "smoke" flavor added. Tandoori chicken, again, same thing, it's like they were adding something fake to make it seem like it had been properly roasted Ina tandoori. Their paleek paneer had no flavor, seemed like bland creamed spinach. A few other items were better among the things we've tried, hence I will say overall it was good. But man, don't drive to Columbia to go here! Mango Grove, Akbar, House of India are all better choices for Indian in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank novicetravellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The aroma of the spices will have you breathing deeply!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly prepared Indian food. When you enter the restaurant your sense of smell will be pleasantly overwhelmed by a host of aromatic spices. Service is excellent. All of the appetizers and main dishes that we had were excellent. The Basmati rice was so perfectly fluffy. Naan stuffed with garlic and onions was perfect for scooping the delicious sauces.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailorman320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful food, service, and time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Royal Taj is a wonderful place to eat lunch or dinner. They have a buffet set up Monday - Friday and also in place on the weekends. The service is friendly and knowledgeable. A great place to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kittenkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Taj also viewed

 

Been to Royal Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing